Why do you blog? To write? To connect? COMMENT

I’ve been writing so much lately but you can’t tell from my blog! I don’t know how many ideas and starts I’ve written on tablets (okay, in notebooks that sounded like I was writing the 10 commandments or something), and how many posts I’ve started only to delete. I’ve also been commenting on blog after blog. Actually I think I am a better commenter or (is it commentator?) than blogger!

I’ve been wondering about this blogging thing quite a bit. There is a guesstimate of around 50 million blogs out there in the blogosphere, but probably only around 2 million active blogs (I might have counted yours twice, sorry). Isn’t that mind-boggling or is it mind-bloggleling?

I wonder why you started blogging and would love to hear feedback. Usually when I ask for feedback I don’t seem to get any. I will say that I have been getting extra spam lately–but, I really don’t want those funky messages.

 Why do you blog?

1. You want to write or be a writer

A. You want to connect with people

2. Everyone seems to be doing it

B. What is a blog?

3. You think you are funny and feel you need to share this gift

C. You are trying to convince everyone that you are right about everything

4. You came to my site because you were hungry for ice cream

D. You are trying to market a product, craft, child

5. You are trying to make money

E. Your dad was a blogger, your grandpa was a blogger and his dad was a blogger

Okay, just so you know, I am blogging because I like to write (1.) and because I think I am funny sometimes (3.). This is why I started to blog, but I have been surprised that I have gained a bit of community in the process.

I’m sorry I don’t have the fancy little survey thingy that you see on some blogs — I have a limited budget and we have had major cutbacks here. Take the time to truthfully comment — I am sure I have missed a reason so feel free to add more…

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jak
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 13:16:52

    Why do you blog?

    1. You want to write or be a writer

    A. You want to connect with people

    3. You think you (hold valuable insight) and feel you need to share this gift

    D. You are trying to market (poetry)

    I have always been drawn to writing and connecting to people with your writing while maintaining a sense of anonymity is an attractive outlet for such interests. I also think it keeps me sharp. If you keep up with it (so far so good) it forces you to read, create new ideas, and overall use your brain a little more on the regular. Great question. Who needs fancy surveys, you would miss out on great elaboration (although I confess I would like to use them as well sometimes).

  2. TSM-truth, sincerity, madness
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 18:47:03

    I’d say 3 and 4. I was directed to Dooce as my first ever blog, then started blogging on the evil MySp@ce, and found I had a knack for it. So I started my own site.

    So far I have more than one reader, so I gauge it a success.

    It’s a great outlet, too, and I have found the sense of community, as you say, fabulous! I love that I can encourage so many people with comments, remind them they’re important and I care about them, even if I’ve never met them in person.

    Like you! Yay!

  3. rjlight
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 19:03:41

    Thanks so much — okay, more!!!! It’s going to be easy for me to summarize all the comments if I only have two!

  4. Brent
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 20:09:04

    Why do I blog? Let me count the ways…

    1. I want to be a writer, a humorist actually, so I guess I’ll have to throw in #3 as well.

    (I also have boat-loads of notepads with hastily scribbled ideas on them, as well as a voice recorder in the car for the sneaky ones that show up on the way to work.)

    Honestly, I go back and forth between D and 5 at least once a week. I do want to make money eventually from writing, but I don’t know if I should try for money from the blog directly, or keep it strictly as a stepping stone toward a weekly column or a book.

    What has taken me by surprise, however, is the sense of community that has come with the whole blogging endeavor. Like you, I check everyday for feedback from the blogosphere, and have come to enjoy hearing from my regular commentors. (I prefer the o) It is strange how you can grow attached to people you have never met.

    Great topic.

    Happy Wednesday

  5. Diane
    Mar 15, 2007 @ 04:48:29

    I think I’d say 1 – I want to write (but not be a writer).

    Also A for my couch-to-5k running program. I need support on that one!

    And I have to add a #6 – I write to sort of keep track of my own thoughts. Its mostly for my own journalling. So you may ask- why blog instead of just journal? Well, it just looks neater. I have terrible handwriting and I love the look of WordPress – it makes my own lame ramblings look professional! ha. So this sort of falls under your #1, but for a different reason.

  6. rjlight
    Mar 15, 2007 @ 09:32:54

    got this in an email and thought I would add to the others…

    why do we blog? I think the connecting part is utmost for me. We have lost so many of our social structures in real life (amateur sports, charties, volunteer orgs) that we (or just me) feel isolated. Blogging has made me feel part of a larger group again. and Brent my lack of o in blogosphere was a typo not a conscious choice! :)

  7. Bethany
    Mar 15, 2007 @ 17:45:54

    In my very first post I said I was blogging so I could talk to myself without being institutionalized. I always liked to write but have not had much opportunity to do it. I had been reading blogs for a while and thought it would be a good outlet for me. I was a bit suprised when people actually read it. And liked it. And thought I was funny. And encouraged me.

    What started as something to amuse myself has turned into something special. I, too, feel part of a community. I feel like I have some real friendships with people I have never met.

    Also #4, because I never turn the stuff down.

  8. Brandie
    Mar 15, 2007 @ 18:05:32

    I blog because I like to connect with others (a).
    That was why I originally started blogging and that is why I continue to blog today.
    Especially days on the when I feel like I need some more adult interaction!! =)

  9. heatherinmadrid
    Mar 15, 2007 @ 23:05:50

    Alright already, I’m answering your survey :)

    My answers are: (and I have to say, this is the wackiest numbering/lettering of reasons!)
    1, A, 3, 4 (DUH!) and 5

    I like blogging because it makes me write more (and getting comments doesn’t hurt!) and it has built community for me, so pretty much ditto what a lot of others have said.

    Plus, it’s easier than re-arranging my furniture!

  10. Luisa
    Mar 16, 2007 @ 07:36:43

    I am a writer. I’ve found that blogging helps me warm up to my other writing projects. It helps me chronicle our home life a bit, and lets me keep in touch with far-flung family and friends as well. I’ve enjoyed reading blogs like yours for inspiration and for a little bit of day-to-day connection with adult women.

    Since I started blogging myself, I’ve realized how vital comments are to the blogger, so I lurk less and comment more now. ;)

  11. Alien Drums
    Mar 16, 2007 @ 09:29:10

    I started blogging because of …

    2. Everyone seemed to be doing it …

    I work in communications and wanted to get the feel for what was going on in this alternate reality.

    I continue blogging for three primary reasons:

    a) the sense of community… I feel like I know you and some others. I find that I care about what you are writing and feel good when you care about what I write. I’m going to now check out some who have commented above.

    b) the journaling aspect… I haven’t been consistent at journaling, and blogging has helped me.

    c) the feeback is good food for thought… The comments people leave have helped me see holes in my own thinking and have affirmed some ideas that I sometimes have felt were off the wall. Plus it’s been good to just hear from people who live on the other side of the world or who have a totally different way of looking at reality.

    Also, I’ve found that “eating” ice cream through this site gives me the vicarious thrill without the calories.

  12. newhoosier
    Mar 16, 2007 @ 10:36:35

    First time commentor ;-)

    Why do I blog?

    For truth, justice, and the American way

    I blog so I can right wrongs. It seems like an egotistic premise, but my intentions are pure. It’s just the teacher in me.

    I’d like to be a writer, but will not point a potential employer to my blog because my views tend to be controversial or the minortiy opinion. I also use more tact in my professional world; as a blogger, I can be myself.

    I’d like to connect, but am not good at networking, so connection is a bonus–not a driving purpose. And everyone else doing it is not a reason for me to do anything.

    I’m not trying to promote anything, but I do have a CafePress shop, so at some point, I’ll probably put a link on my blog to it. But, again, that is not a driving motivation for my blogging. I’ll probably wait until I have over 1,000 hits to place a link because I don’t want people to think I’m all about money.

    I get little traffic and few comments, but I have gotten encouraging words a few times telling me that I hit the nail on the head, etc. It makes your heart grow a little each time.

  13. Trackback: The Ominous Comma » Throwing Up My Hat Into The Arena

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

