Salt Water

I have a hard time living in the present. I am usually 5 steps ahead thinking about what if this happens or what if that happens. Or sometimes I go way back and think what if I had done this or that. It isn’t necessarily because I think I made bad choices as much as I am curious about what could have been (sometimes it is wishing I had made a different decision like when I stole the gum cigarettes from the corner store.) So when I go on a trip I tend to go past the trip in my mind and think about going home. It is a very annoying habit I have. I want to be where I am in all things. I want to enjoy the present as it is happening because it goes away so fast. For some reason the ocean seems to make me stay in the present. I try to enjoy every minute of it because I know it will be awhile before I will be there again.

I grew up only 45 minutes from the ocean and I think I took it a little for granted. I guess that is the way it is with most things in life. When you have something so accessible you don’t appreciate it. My mom and dad both grew up in Monterey, Ca so we visited it often. I really didn’t realize how much the feel of the breeze against my cheek, and the sound of the crashing of the waves against the rocks had become something I needed.

I now live about 3 hours away from the ocean, and I try to go as often as I can. When I am there I try to inhale the air hoping it will stay with me long after I leave it. I try to memorize the sound of the tide going in and out so I can close my eyes and be there in my imagination. I take shells and rocks home with me so I have a piece of the ocean in my house. Nothing calms me like the ocean.

When I was younger I imagined visiting so many countries and seeing so many things. Now I imagine visiting so many beaches! I’m thinking I should plan and save for a worldwide beach tour. I could fly to Florida and spend a few days in the keys, then off to the Carribbean and stop at an island or two I’ve never been to for a week. I could then fly to Cape Town in South Africa and see the beach there. Next I’d be off to Seychelles–which is supposed to be incredible–then Australia, New Zealand, and wrap the trip up in Hawaii. I wonder how much that would cost and how much time it would take to really enjoy the trip? And, could I go that far and not stop in my adopted country, Spain?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becca
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 22:21:23

    I can totally relate to this! I try to always remember to appreciate where I am. Being surrounded by ocean all the time can leave one a little forgetful as to life without blue. And then when I think of traveling around the world to go surf new places, I always come back to the thought of how amazing our waves and beaches are here – and they are only 15min away :-)…although I still want to go, it settles a place in me that is looking for something better.

    by the way your trip idea sounds amazing!

  2. rjlight
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 08:17:04

    Thanks, Becca for your comment. I don’t surf, but would love to learn!

  3. Dawn
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 13:46:03

    I am a fellow ocean lover. Not necessarily the hop-a-ship-somewhere ocean lover, but more that bury my bare feet in the sand and sit with my eyes closed type. :) My Dad was in the Coast Guard my whole growing up years, so naturally we lived on the coast (MA, WA, AK & CA) all that time. I now live 7 hours inland and I miss the beach SO MUCH. I wanna come!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

