You don’t need clean underwear on Sunday

My daughter is in kindergarten and is very excited about learning how to read. She outgrew her days-of-the-week socks so I thought I would look for some more for her for Christmas. I couldn’t find any socks but after Christmas I found some days-of-the-week underwear (for her) and was so excited. As I was looking for her size I saw that there were three different styles. One package was pretty basic just the days-of-the-week in different colors, nothing fancy. I liked the bright colors but they didn’t have her size. As I was looking at the other options I noticed a ripped bag. Apparently someone had stolen Monday through Thursday underwear out of the sports themed bag! It was clearly marked “7 pairs” and I only saw the days of the weekend. I immediately thought of Britney Spears since she doesn’t need any underwear Friday through Sunday, but they were actually more Paris Hilton’s size. I finally found my daughter’s size in two of the styles. I chose the dance theme package, paid for them and went home.

As I was opening the package with my daughter I was struck with the thought that the colors didn’t match with the days of the week. Monday was pink. Who would pick pink for Monday? Tuesday was chartreuse, I could live with that, but Monday is clearly not pink. I would have chosen grey. Of course, then little girls wouldn’t have liked them, would they? The other colors were okay; they threw in pink again on Thursday, which was better than on Monday. As I got to Saturday however, I realized that there were only six pairs of underwear (okay, I am a little slow). Saturday’s underwear was marked weekend. My daughter didn’t need to have clean underwear for Sunday. Maybe she was supposed to wear holy underwear that day. Maybe she was supposed to not wear underwear that day. Could that be? Clearly the shop lifter didn’t think Sunday underwear was needed. On Saturday, my daughter wore weekend underwear. We decided she could choose any of her other underwear for Sunday. So Sundays could be Dora or Hello Kitty underwear – or maybe she could turn her weekend underwear inside out.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. perkidawn
    Feb 09, 2007 @ 16:54:23

    Okay, little girls need undies.

    For Moms, they’re optional. 🙂

  2. Trackback: Why I need to lock her in a tower « a-muse-ing
  3. Diane
    Mar 29, 2007 @ 06:32:44

    Ha – I just now read this one even though its 3 mos. old. VERY funny – I’ve never seen “Weekend” undies! And my girls have had MANY sets of the days-of-the-week ones.

    That’s pretty hilarious when you let your mind wander to what in the world the manufacturers could have had in mind! ha.

  4. rjlight
    Mar 29, 2007 @ 08:27:48

    Hey, glad you liked! Yeah, I still smile everytime I read the “weekend” I must have gotten the generic version! 🙂

  5. quickly
    May 01, 2014 @ 17:45:07

    FingDingle.Net, the worlds largest adult products storerjlight.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

