Fear of Phobias

Have you ever read a medical book and discovered you had five rare diseases? When I was about ten years old, I grabbed my mom’s big medical book off the shelf. My mom consulted it whenever one of us kids came down with some lesion or rash thing she hadn’t seen before. I was curious, so I decided to read the book. The next thing I knew, I was dying from a rare tropical disease … and I’d never been out of California!

Strangely, I never died from my tropical disease, and I seemed to be healthy until yesterday. I was watching Animal Planet and they mentioned phobias. This piqued my curiosity, so I decided to investigate phobias. Sure enough, I could have some phobias that I didn’t know I had. Here are just a few I might have:

Arithmophobia: Fear of numbers (when I balance the checkbook or pay the bills) 
Algophobia: Fear of pain (before giving birth to my kids)
Allodoxaphobia: Fear of opinions (every time I get a new haircut)
Arachibutyrophobia: Fear of peanut butter sticking to the roof of the mouth (if I eat a peanut butter sandwich and can’t find milk)
Dentophobia: Fear of dentists (for sure, read my “Toothless or Penniless” post)
Aichmophobia: Fear of needles (only when I give blood or get a shot)
Catoptrophobia – Fear of mirrors (especially in the morning)
Claustrophobia: Fear of confined spaces (when I’m locked in the trunk of a car)Agoraphobia: Fear of being in crowded places (acts up when I go Christmas shopping)
Menophobia: Fear of menstruation (every 28 days!)
Agateophobia: Fear of insanity (who isn’t?)

If you noticed my list isn’t in alphabetical order because I have alphaphobia (okay, that one I made up). I can’t find the name of one of my strongest phobias–the phobia of wild boar. Since phobias are usually in Greek, I looked up the Greek word for boar. Wild boar phobia would be something like “Kaprosphobia”. Fears seem saner with a name don’t they?

I haven’t decided if I should add to my list or stop now. I have so much more of life ahead of me; shouldn’t I face these fears head on? According to Franklin D. Roosevelt, “we have nothing to fear but fear itself”. So, if I listen to him, I am going to have to add “Phobophobia”, the fear of fearing to my never-ending list.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. RubyShooZ
    Jul 12, 2007 @ 06:45:38

    I’m afraid to look at a list of my phobias. Is there a word for that or have I missed it somehow? I qualify for most of the phobias you’ve listed here and I know for sure I have more.

    Thanks for sharing a part of yourself here. (I’m new here and looking forward to looking around more.)

Leave a Reply

