Girl takes the cookie

I know I am new with this blogging thing and not exactly the most tech-savvy girl in cyberspace. I admit I have limitations. I get overwhelmed with words like “widgets” and “wysiwyg”–that is a misnomer– I see nothing! I get my “uploads” mixed with my “downloads” and my “imports” get lost in Asia or someplace. How long is the learning curve? I am convinced kids born in the 80’s were born with a microchip implanted in their brain. (wait, this solves the brain bleeding problem –see brain bleeding post! I solved it!) I was born with disco on the radio and that seemed to go straight to my hips. This is helpful when you hear “YMCA” at a wedding but of no use on the internet.

Okay, so here is the main problem I have with this internet stuff. Cookies. How could they take a word that brings so much comfort to me and use it to describe an internet-related thingy? How? Everytime I see the words “must be cookie enabled” I am overwhelmed with the desire to spend some time with Nestle. I think a British tech must have thought of “magic cookies” — they call theirs “biscuits” –they weren’t worried about mucking up a soothing image! I guess this is one of those “you know your a geek when you associate ‘cookie’ with downloads instead of Oreos.”

(okay this is one of those times when an image/photo would be very helpful…but I am having technical problems!)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TSM-terrifically superiorily mediocre
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 10:37:04

    Cookies…Donuts…it’s all the same.

    All hail Krispy Kreme!

    By the way, thanks for stopping by my blog! You’re added to fav’s!

    -Tracy

  2. perkidawn
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 12:48:36

    Okay, cookies ARE better than biscuits…. considering they are unseen in a computer, AIR BISCUITS may not be the best thing to talk about in mixed company! LOL
    The learning curve is better now that it was when my parents got their Commodore 64 in 1985, and we had to sit for hours reading lines of jumbled code aloud while we took turns typing, all so my Mom could play Solitaire on her new computer! I’ll take point & click, cookies and all.

Leave a Reply

