Mom Makes Valentine’s Day Cookies

 s4010019.JPG

I made Valentine cookies today. As I rolled the dough out with my daughter, (no short-cuts–from scratch–I even used those little cups with fractions on them) I caught myself thinking, wow, you are such a good mom, what incredible memories you are making with your daughter. She is learning how to bake. Yep, you are so good. Of course, the above-average mom is making cookies every week with their children. Actually, they have already taught their 6-year-old how to teach a class on baking. The above-average moms are stirring with one hand while teaching music lessons with the other. The above-average moms are knitting and raising money for the PTA. The above-average moms know all of their children’s first and middle names.

I’ve been more consumed with those hard computer cookies (guess they aren’t hard, just virtual?). Anyway, because I have been focused on writing and trying to make people laugh, which I succeed at 25 per cent of the time, I haven’t baked too many cookies with my children. Lately, I’ve embraced things like cable tv and computer games. I know there is some research out there that says that you need to moderate that stuff, but I haven’t seen any developmental problems with my kids. My nine-year-old child is already reading, my five-year-old is starting to talk in complete sentences and my 18-month-old is rolling over! Developmental problems? What are they talking about?

After my incredible cookie-baking feat I plan on making dinner–yep, I’m astounding today! Maybe I’ll even read the kids a book or something. Right now I better take the matches from my toddler, and get my daughter to stop running through the house with her Ginsu knife.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. perkidawn
    Feb 14, 2007 @ 22:53:34

    *LOL*
    *sniff!*

    Tears rolling down my face because I am laughing so hard…..

  2. rjlight
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 21:31:05

    Love hearing that! I hope that was a good release! 🙂

Leave a Reply

