What you ought to know about “The Secret”

I don’t know if you have heard, but “Secret” is the word. Not talking about deodorant or the latest way to generate traffic on your blog. This is a book that has been talked about on Oprah (which means $$$ in book sales) and is also a DVD. “The Secret” is book about the “law of attraction” –if you imagine it you can get it or “attract” it.

Rhonda Byrne, the author, says that it has worked for heCover Imager by improving her vision. She is 55 and formerly wore reading glasses. She says that she closed her eyes and imagined not needing glasses and in “three days” she didn’t need her glasses anymore. (People, February 19)   

The DVD is supposed to be better than the book, and very inspiring. Inspiring in that it encourages you to set goals and determine to achieve them. It also takes a look at some very intelligent people (like Einstein) who supposedly knew this secret and kept it a secret.

As with so many things,there is an element of truth in the book/DVD. You will have a better chance of achieving your goals if you:

1. Have a goal

2. Are determined to reach that goal

I think “The Secret” that many people know is that anything worthwhile usually takes determination and hard work. The book is popular because people want to believe life has an easy formula–we think and it happens. This starts to break down when you consider people in South Africa dying with AIDS or victims of Katrina. Did they not think positively enough? They couldn’t control what happened to them, but they can control how they face life now.

I tried to imagine that my teeth didn’t need any more dental work, but I still need to go to the dentist. Now if I imagined I didn’t need dental work when I was 10 years old and had a goal to stop eating candy and brushed my teeth more — I would have nicer teeth now!

There is much to say about having a positive attitude and facing obstacles with a great outlook. Most of my posts are intended to make you smile or laugh. Why? Because, I believe, unlike the book, I can’t control my circumstances all of the time, but I can control my attitude. I can get angry and upset every time something horrible happens, or I can pick myself up and laugh. Sometimes the laughter takes a long time, but it will surface, it always does. I would like to do more than just make you laugh; hopefully I make you think a bit too. But, if all I do is give you a smile–I could think of worse things to do with my time.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TSM-terrifically superiorily mediocre
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 18:17:06

    Great post! I agree. I think that there really are certain illnesses that can be helped by this “secret”, such as depression, my fibromyalgia, things like that. But cancer? Aids? I think there are elements of truth that can be useful, but we shouldn’t be too quick to make it our main method of improving our life.

    Right now, I’m thinking positively that my daughter will stop rolling her eyes and DO the doggone dishes. Yet she keeps standing in my doorway asking for ANYTHING but this. PLEEZE mom.

    Positive thinking, 0
    Reinforced consequences, 1

  2. ggwfung
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 22:40:21

    I like the think and you won’t need your glasses anymore. Classic.

    ggw

  3. Brent
    Apr 07, 2007 @ 16:10:01

    Excellent post. I was wondering what all the hype was about.

    On a related note I have always thought that the best way to “make money on the internet” was to sell materials on how to make money on the internet to the get rich quick crowd.

    I haven’t been able to bring myself to do it though.

    P.S. Congrats on joining humor-blogs.com, you are definitely better than many of those people.

  4. rjlight
    Apr 10, 2007 @ 07:50:16

    Thanks so much Brent! I don’t know how well I’m going to do with this humor-blogs thing but thought it was worth a try. It isn’t easy trying to come out with quality humor — you make it look easy though!

  5. Theresa
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 00:44:26

    I have been imagining all my life that I don’t need glasses, and here I am, very nearly blind as a bat. A positive attitude is great, but it can’t do miracles. Maybe if I close my eyes and think I’m funny then hilarious posts will begin to fly from my fingers…

  6. rjlight
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 06:49:49

    Theresa — I close my eyes and try to be funny too — it doesn’t work! 🙂

  7. Trackback: ambien overnight

Leave a Reply

