Why I need to lock her in a tower

If you haven’t noticed girls are growing up quite fast these days. Well, they appear to grow up fast. They are the same little bodies in “adult” wear. It’s quite scary. The other day my daughter was invited to a birthday party at a girls boutique. I knew my daughter would love the party, and I really didn’t think too much about it. When I went to pick her up she had a new little hairdo and a bright eye shadow on her eyes. I wasn’t too excited about walking downtown with my beauty pageant daughter, but didn’t expect some of the disapproving looks I got from the women I passed on the street.  I don’t regret that my daughter went to the party, it was one day, but I did get reminded after reading this article that I need to make sure that she doesn’t get sucked into the whole tween marketing scheme.

Did you know there is urban slang for a little girl dressing provocatively? They are called “prostitots.” You know that something is becoming popular when a new urban word gets into the talk. This whole “tween” thing really annoys me. What is so great about teenage years that you need to rush them along? I just want my little girl to be a little girl. You know, play, run, skip, jump — those kind of things. I think back to when I was her age and I was playing. I did have some Barbie dolls, but I climbed trees at the same time.

I do have to say something about Barbie dolls here. I really don’t think Barbie dolls are the enemies or influence girls that much.  I don’t remember ever thinking — “Man, I want those big boobs and an itsy-bitsy waist — then the men like Ken will want me.  I want to have fingers that permanently stay together. I want to have a head that goes all the way around and can be tilted slightly. I want that hair that if gets wet will never be smooth again.”  Also, if you had the “Cher” doll like my neighbor, did you want your scalp to spin around to reveal black or whitish-blond hair? What if you were a boy and you had the “Hulk” action figure–did little boys really think girls were looking for green hunks?

I do think if you combined all of the media and “toys” out there today there is a message trying to get to our little girls to grow up fast. I was appalled when I read in the Washington Post article “tweens — that highly coveted marketing segment ranging from 7 to 12 — spent $1.6 million on thong underwear, Time magazine reported.” What the heck are 7-year-olds doing wearing thong underwear? First of all, thongs are the most uncomfortable piece of underwear ever designed. I know a hateful disgusting male designed those nasty things. Secondly, supposedly they help with the panty line problem — do 7-year-olds really have panty lines? Do 7 to 12-year-olds even have butts?

The article also mentions that there are eating disorders now at the age of 5 or 6! What a wacko world! My daughter is into the princess fairy tale thing as most girls are, but I am also thankful that she likes horses and wants to be a “sports girl.” I am encouraging the sports girl — she doesn’t need to get caught up thinking she needs to worry about her looks at 6 or wear thong undies at 7. No, she needs to keep wearing those days of the week underwear while she sits alone in her tower until she is old enought to date — at 25 or so.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TSM-terrifically superiorily mediocre
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 23:18:23

    I should have locked mine up a couple of years ago. Now I have another one about to hit 10.

    Apparently it’s my fault because I wouldn’t let them read about scrotums. Go figure.

    (it’s in my blog)

  2. danielandthelions
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 05:51:26

    Great, great post! found your blog through hitting a “random blog” link and I’m sending friends with young girls to read this, too!

  3. Alien Drums
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 07:24:28

    As a dad of three daughters, the youngest now 12, I say cheers to climbing trees, horses and sports. Thanks.

  4. perkidawn
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 07:44:59

    Oh you are talking right up my alley! I’ve been through this tween thing three times, currently with a 12 year old. Girls should be kids as long as they possibly can! I was like you, I played Barbies, climbed trees, raced bikes, and rollerskated.

    The thong thing came up once with each girl. My point to each was this: “Thongs were made to impress men (boys, guys, you pick the word). Who are you trying to impress?”
    That has always been the end of the conversation, punctuated by my daughter’s huffy “No one!”
    Exactly. Now sweetheart, go wash your face and get out your soccer ball.

  5. rjlight
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 10:42:57

    You guys are scaring me! Do you think young girls would want to wear thongs if the manufacturers didn’t make them in their size?Always chasing after a dollar aren’t they?

  6. Kelly (Sometimes known as Breathtakingly gorgeous Kelly--and you'd see if I could be smart enough to insert my picture) Orwig-Boseley
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 20:59:05

    Well, I could go on and on, but I’ll try to keep it short. I read a lot of the article rjlight was talking about, and I have to completely agree with how hard it is to find clothes. I have a much harder problem because my 5 year old is tall and skinny (I used to be tall and skinny, now I’m just tall.) But, the SHOES, oh the shoes! She’s already in a 1, so that causes a problem with the “prostitot” shoes I find! We do have a tower and I’m proud of it! Getting your kids saturated in this world is not all it’s cracked up to be. I’m proud my kids get EXCITED when Mr. Rogers comes on the TV! I love that they love watching Brady Bunch and Shirley Temple movies. And who the HECK is working at Matell making “Bling, Bling” Barbie, which I’ve SEEN in person too?! And do NOT get me started with “Bratz”!!!!! But, our poster child for “sexualzation” Britney Spears is doing just great, isn’t she? Here’s to purity and innocence! It’s quite underrated!

  7. Claire
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 20:24:01

    I am an 11 year old and I think that we should wear thongs it would “up” our selfesteim as long as no one was seeing the underwear it is not like we will abuse it and go around wearing thongs and flashing people. If you raise you kid right she won’t abuse it

  8. rjlight
    Apr 14, 2007 @ 07:43:29

    Claire, why would you think a piece of underwear would improve your self-esteem?

  9. Claire
    May 05, 2007 @ 12:18:47

    I think that It would just let us know our parents trust us and we don’t want to break that!

  10. rjlight
    May 07, 2007 @ 07:46:26

    I don’t understand how wearing a thong is about trust. What is the purpose of wearing a piece of garment that is intended to make men think your back end looks nice when you are 11? It’s not about trusting you, it’s about protecting you from the messed-up men out there.

  11. Pris
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 15:12:37

    Good article. Tween is new word for me. I always heard it as pre-teen. It is hard in our culture as parents we want to raise independent “un-bubbled” children, but at the same time protect them from this messed up society where good morals are hard to find. I enjoyed your writings once again.
    and no 7-12 year olds do not have butts 🙂
    I know your little ones will be ok because they have great parents who are great examples :).

  12. Lydia
    Dec 01, 2007 @ 20:44:12

    If only the towers didn’t have wifi. I’m encouraging Groovy Girls, discouraging Bratz, encouraging Barbie, discouraging Bratz, encouraging Polly Pocket, and discouraging Bratz. Did I mention that Bratz are definitely the enemy? Or at least, they are where I like to locate my fear of my daughter’s turning 13.

  13. Idetrorce
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 18:40:06

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  14. Dlight
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 09:18:45

    So you are saying that if I put my girls’ Ken Doll head on their Barbie Doll body I am confusing the problem???? Also, should I discourage my girls being enamored with the kid on Charlie Brown’s Xmas who has the rubber neck and dances with a constant move that only makes me wonder….

  15. Mattheous
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 11:40:12

    I just wanted to let you know that I agree with you.

    And I’m only an 18 year-old male, someone you wouldn’t think would agree with you.

    Also, I’m linking this article from my article on Corruption of Minors post: http://lairofthebookworm-mattheous.blogspot.com/2008/02/of-minors.html

  16. Half-Past Kissin' Time
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 08:42:30

    “Do 7 to 12-year-olds even have butts?” This post really cracked me up! But seriously, you are a great mom. You’re doing your daughter a favor by protecting her innocence; there’s plenty of time for grown up stuff. We’ve done the same with our daughter (13) and are very, very happy when people tell us she is very sweet and innocent “for her age.”

  17. A Girl
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 14:01:14

    I am 12 years old (I will be 13 next week) and I have to say I actually agree with you! I was at a sleepover once and when we were all changing I noticed everyone else’s underwear was either a thong or something of the sort. My underwear was basically briefs. I really don’t understand why everyone has to be so grown up when they aren’t even a teenager yet. I was recently shopping for a dress for a Bat- MItzvah and I could not find one thing that didnt have sparkles or spagetti straps. I finally had to go to the Womens Petite section and I found something there but really, if everyone would stop producing these types of things, girls wouldn’t have any option other than to be normal kids. There is just so much presure in the media and I have to say that I too have begun wearing thongs. I don’t mind it because it makes me feel sexy and I believe that is how it raises self-esteem but at the same time I don’t believe it necessary for me to wear one. Also, another area that needs to be covered is pre-teen dating. The majority of my grade is dating and some people started making out in 5th grade. Someone has already been felt up! I just don’t understand! It’s ridiculous!

  18. Nicole
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 19:08:31

    I went through all this in my late pre-teens from 9 to 12. It did start buy wearing thongs, but back then I looked at them as another pair of underwear as most girls were wearing them in my class. But the make-up and short skirts came later but this was only natural for my age but I never flashed my bits about and no one ever saw my thong.

Leave a Reply

