Toddler knocks over tornado

“Mom, hurry the tornado fell!”

I rushed to my son’s bedroom and panicked to see his science project lying on the floor. I looked around for the culprit and saw my 20-month-old’s shifty eyes. I carefully picked up the tornado box, hoping nothing was broken, adjusted it into its place, shut the door and moved the kids to the other room.

A month ago my older son came home with his science project information. I thought that he and my husband could have some bonding time making a simple little project.  I was picturing my son impaling insects on cardboard and writing their Latin names underneath, or measuring how much rain had fallen in March in our town, or maybe planting seeds in different pots and researching the growing patterns of the plants, or if nothing else, throwing baking soda and something else in a jar and watching it bubble and change colors.

My son was thinking: rockets, solar-powered cars, robots and earthquakes. My husband and son finally agreed on tornadoes and making a tornado box. I was happy I wasn’t involved until my husband started talking about supplies. Oh, supplies–I’m thinking cardboard and something that spins. My husband is talking about Plexiglas, fans, dry ice, smoke, batteries;  I’m seeing dollar signs and my son lying on the floor electrocuted.

So, when my daughter told me the tornado had fallen, I had to dash into the room to rescue the Rolls-Royce of science projects. After all, my husband son has worked so hard on it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. danielandthelions
    Mar 19, 2007 @ 12:57:54

    Seriously, does any child do the bulk of the work on their science project?

    I read a newstory the other day about a kid who won third place at a science fair for a concept/thesis piece on sociology.

    Using an ant farm and some clever analogies they laid out a plan for manipulating an entire community of adults by a pointless social construct.

    The case the child (and by child, I mean parent-son team) presented gave the example of this nefarious construct as a 4th grade Science Fair. 😀

  2. Luisa
    Mar 19, 2007 @ 15:13:09

    Funny! Have your son and husband participated in a Pinewood Derby at Cub Scouts yet? I remember our first year–our oldest son had done all the work on his car himself, and it looked the way you would expect an 8-year-old’s masterpiece to look. Then we got to the competition. Either our pack is full of John Deloreans-in-embryo, or there was a significant amount of adult intervention going on! My husband always (sort of) jokes that they should have a Dad’s Heat at every Derby.

  3. rjlight
    Mar 19, 2007 @ 18:19:38

    I am sure my son’s will actually be pretty humble compared to some others in this town. He really has worked on it –and can tell you all about tornados I just get a kick out of watching my husband have so much fun! At this fair everyone gets a ribbon so he really could have entered anything!

  4. TSM-truth, sincerity, madness
    Mar 19, 2007 @ 18:28:17

    Hope your hus- er…son wins a blue ribbon at the science fair!

  5. Alien Drums
    Mar 20, 2007 @ 04:49:07

    The science project I always wanted to do — volcanoes. Never did it. Maybe we need to have adult science fairs.

Leave a Reply

