spring break means…

hearing “mom” 100 times a day instead of 50

saying “take that out of your nose” a few times a day

half-completed writing attempts all over the house

there will be no “lather, rinse, repeat” in the shower–I’ll go straight for the conditioner to save time

bathroom time is interrupted by the sound of screaming in the other room 

the librarians call out our names when we walk into the library 

when my husband asks me about my day I reply with “no casualties”

if the house is quiet then somebody is decorating their room with baby wipes

the kids will be sent outside to play unless there are flash flood or tornado warnings and even that depends on the severity

I’ll need to remind myself that soon they will grow up and I will be dyeing my hair and thinking up young, hip words to replace “grandma”

I need to end this post to take playdough off the ceiling even though I still have more witty insights to share

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Luisa
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 05:15:48

    This, too, shall pass.

  2. froglette79
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 15:44:34

    “if the house is quiet then somebody is decorating their room with baby wipes”

    Ha! This is so true in our house! I am so sick of finding baby wipes in every corner of the house. At least the children are clean, even if they aren’t tidy…..

    Loved the list. Thanks for the laugh.

  3. rjlight
    Apr 16, 2007 @ 08:36:39

    froglette –Glad you liked it! Thanks for commenting!

  4. Momma Knows
    Apr 17, 2007 @ 07:45:19

    If my boys are quiet, usually there is destruction in their wake. If they are quiet in the bathroom, it means GET THE PLUNGER!

  5. rjlight
    Apr 17, 2007 @ 12:39:06

    momma — too much information! 🙂

Leave a Reply

