the mostly new vacuum

When we first moved to our current apartment, my husband came back from taking the trash to the dumpster to tell me that there was a vacuum by the dumpster. I like to recycle, and I like a good deal, but I was a bit embarrased to have him pull it up from the trash. Yes, my pride started to hinder me from getting a good bargain, but I pushed it aside and asked him to bring it up and check it out. Turned out it only needed a new belt and it worked better than me and the kids picking up pieces of lint and dirt out of the carpet with our fingers.

A few days ago my husband came back from the trash dumpster again with the news that another vacuum was by the dumpster. Now I’m the kind of person that always gets caught–in school, everyone else could break a rule and no one would notice until I did. My fears of getting caught doing something “wrong” hounded me –could the vacuum just have been forgotten by someone? Could there be a repairman that visits the dumpster to fix vacuums? What if some poor family is looking for their lost vacuum?

After voicing my fears to my husband, he laughed, and got the other vacuum from the dumpster. He worked on the second vacuum  for a few minutes and fixed it. We actually got an upgrade with the second vacuum. In fact, after vacuuming the room we found out that our other free vacuum only brushed the carpet and this one actually picked up the dirt!

Of course, the highlight of my weekend was not the mostly-new functioning vacuum, it was when my daughter yelled at the top of her voice, to her brother who was outside on his scooter, “Guess what? We got a new vacuum from the garbage!”

So, now I am pushing aside all my pride and admitting on my blog that I have two rescued vacuums from the dumpster. Afterall, what pride do I have left after my daughter broadcasts our “new purchases” to the whole neighborhood? I am concerned, however, that there’s a poor neighbor roaming the neighborhood looking for a missing vacuum cleaner or two and I’ll get caught.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tobeme
    Apr 16, 2007 @ 11:49:43

    Dumpster diving paid off! It’s fun when you find a tresure that is supposed to suck.

  2. Momma Knows
    Apr 17, 2007 @ 07:21:40

    LOL! And I felt weird when my hubby brought home an Oreck from Goodwill for $20! (I felt like we stole it) BTW, ya might not recognize my name, but you’ll recognize my blog. I am, ahem, incognito. 😉 New blog, new name, old stuff.

    Congrats on the great find!! I love a bargain, but that’s even better!

  3. rjlight
    Apr 17, 2007 @ 12:38:38

    Hey, I didn’t get an Oreck — we need to check that dumpster again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

