In the rough

We’ve started out on our vacation. I will still write on my vacation because I actually think better and write better when I’m close to the ocean ,and my husband is near, to watch the kids! However, believe me, we will have fun and enjoy every minute of this wonderful time.

We spent Friday night at a campsite. I’m not a real camper. I’m a one-night-it-will-be-fun-and-then-we-go-to-the-hotel type of camper. The kids of course think camping is the coolest thing. I had time to ponder the finer points of camping as they giggled with delight at the reality of sleeping in a triangular-coned-shaped piece of fabric.

It was this fabric that got me thinking. During the normal times of life we go to our homes, double-lock our doors and set the security system to keep ourselves safe. On vacation we go to the great outdoors, rent a square lot, set up a tent in the wild and a piece of fabric keeps us safe from wild and dangerous animals and humans. Oh, no, I forgot we zip the door shut. Yes, that zipper keeps us safe.

I also pondered about our American heritage. Yes, the Native Americans who had this tent-dwelling down to perfection. They must laugh at us now. We have houses and yet on vacation we live in a tent. Maybe they don’t laugh at us; perhaps, they are happy that we go back to simplicity. However, I am again faced with a question, what did the Native Americans do for vacation? Did they rent a cave for a week?

Our night was enjoyable except for the cold. It was cold. My husband is a boyscout at heart and usually packs everything for a trip. I had to ask him to put back the refrigerator one time. I’ve tried to help him with this compulsion, and he is slowly learning we don’t need to take EVERYTHING on vacation. Unfortunately, he has learned too quickly and he didn’t pack for every possible climate like he normally would, and we were cold. Have you ever started the morning with cold hair or had to search the bottom of your sleeping bag for your toes that had fallen off with frostbite?

Despite the cold, and the other quirks of camping, we had a nice night. The scenery couldn’t have been any more beautiful; if you’ve never been to Big Sur, California, you need to go and camping is a great way to experience all of the beauty.

In the morning, I got up around 6 am and cooked some award-winning pancakes over the campfire. My husband went fishing and we had trout with the pancakes. The kids had gathered some berries to finish it all off…. Yeah, right! We actually went a bit down the road to this wonderful lodge and had a warm delicious breakfast. (Didn’t I tell you I’m not a real camper? You believed that?)

As we were driving out of the campsite we drove by a  BMW parked next to a little tent. I think something is funny about a BMW next to a tent. I expect to see old VW vans with Peace written in the back at a campsite in California, but a BMW parked next to a tent and campfire makes me laugh. I also noticed that our campsite was AAA approved. What goes into the approving process of a campsite? It’s a piece of land! Do they check to make sure it’s flat enough? Are the non-AAA approved campsites all bumpy and built on a slope? Oh, it must be the bathrooms. We did have toilet paper and hot showers. Of course once you get out of the shower the fact that the shower was hot doesn’t make a difference because of the cold. I did do the hike and natural camping once –no bathroom– and you dig a hole for your umm, refuse. That’s another story.

Now, I’m at the beach, and in a warm comfortable bed. I love the ocean…I’ll catch you guys later…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Luisa
    Apr 30, 2007 @ 06:02:06

    It’s totally all about the bathrooms. Enjoy your vaca!

  2. tobeme
    Apr 30, 2007 @ 08:48:06

    My idea of camping is turn down service and mint on my pillow. That is as rough as I want it to get. Glad you had a good time.

  3. rjlight
    May 03, 2007 @ 13:28:22

    Thanks for your comments — Luisa & tobeme

  4. Brent
    May 06, 2007 @ 13:45:03

    I love it. Enjoy your rest, you deserve it.

  5. Brent
    May 06, 2007 @ 13:49:45

    By the way, maybe BMW guy/girl/ person will have a blowdrier for your cold hair.

    It’s worth a try.

  6. rjlight
    May 07, 2007 @ 06:55:59

    Thanks Brent. I think BMW person was too busy connecting the generator to run the espresso machine…

Leave a Reply

