Proper Cone Technique

Now for the separate post to explain the details I was telling my kids when wacko-Iowa-tall guy interrupted us. First, I need to explain that it wasn’t Ben & Jerry’s ice cream– just a soft-serve cone on the beach. Not the quality of my friend Ben, but it was the beach and it was ice cream so all was good in the world.

I need to confess before I go on that it is my fault. I have let my kids down. Until today, I had not properly trained them in proper ice cream cone eating. I was mortified at my kid’s ice cream cone eating techniques. They didn’t know what they were doing. I realize there could be others who haven’t mastered this technique so I will explain s-l-o-w-l-y.

1. Do not lick the tip of the ice cream and work your way down. You are to lick the cone with a horizontal-circling motion to keep the ice cream even at all times. Please no diagonal or vertical licks.

2. Swirled cones are the best for learning the technique. As long as your swirls are evenly around the cone you are doing fine. If at any time you have shmeared (yes, it’s sorta a word) the chocolate ice cream into the vanilla, blurring the swirls, you will know that your technique is faulty.

3. There must not be a drop of ice cream dripping down the side of the cone at any time.

4. There must be ice cream in every final cone bite.

If you follow these secrets you will be sure to have a nice beach-ice cream cone experience.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucid
    May 07, 2007 @ 09:54:47

    This is such a cute post! I smiled my whole my through it, and you want to know why????…. Because I can totally relate! Everyone makes fun of me because of the way I will eat ice cream on a cone, and here it is… you gave a lesson on it.

    Thanks for the chuckle!!!

  2. Lucid
    May 07, 2007 @ 09:57:14

    P.S. It is the soft ice cream that is favorable to do this technique. it is alittle harder when It comes to the hard scopped ice cream lol do you have any quick tips for that 🙂

  3. tobeme
    May 07, 2007 @ 12:41:39

    Or, you could just jump in and get all sticky and messy! Whatever works, long as it goes in the mouth, that’s the important part.

  4. rjlight
    May 07, 2007 @ 14:59:11

    Thank you, Lucid for your comments! In some ways the harder variety is a bit more forgiving because you have a bit of time before it starts melting. It is important to get the
    cone all even right at the beginning! 🙂

    tobeme–well, if you want to do that I guess it’s okay! You’re right–as long as it gets in the mouth! 🙂

  5. Momma Knows
    May 07, 2007 @ 15:30:07

    YES there MUST be ice cream in the last few bites of cone!! LOL Hard scooped ice cream must be pushed DOWN every so often with the tongue, in order to get it all the way down to the last bite. 🙂

  6. rjlight
    May 07, 2007 @ 16:23:53

    Momma Knows — exactly! I forgot about the extra effort needed with scooped ice cream getting it down to the last few bites!

  7. Lucid
    May 07, 2007 @ 16:54:31

    (To Be Me) has a point…. It might be fun to let loose and get all messy, sticky, and maybe a lil brain freeze….. But what happens if there is nowhere to wash your hands, face, or even change your shirt if it dribbles onto it? If you were driving, your steering wheel would get all yucky. lol 🙂 What a fun topic!

  8. tania
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 23:08:50

    way to analyze your pleasure!

Leave a Reply

