A top (4+1) ways to face rejection

I have finally read On Writing by Stephen King. The book was recommended to me by many readers. Over my vacation, I studied, highlighted and pondered the book. Well, actually, I just read it. First, I must admit that On Writing will probably be the only Stephen King book I’ll read. Not because it wasn’t good — no, because, I would never be able to go to sleep again if I read his typical book. I jump at my shadow–frequently. I’ve even jumped at the sight of my hair in my peripheral vision–don’t sneak up on me, you will regret it. My husband asked me the other night if I’ve ever seen a horror movie. I said I had seen Signs with Mel Gibson. He laughed. I was puzzled.

I enjoyed the book, found it helpful, and will re-read it in the future; however, it gave me no guarantees of writing success. Of course, I really didn’t expect it to, but I wanted it to. It did keep me reading and writing so I’m glad I read it. I realized if Stephen King could go on to success after many rejection letters– I guess I still have a shot. So, on the topic of rejection, and how to face it, I give you 5 top responses:

1. You can curse the day that you were born, eat a pint of Ben & Jerry’s finest Chocolate Fudge Brownie ice cream and cry, and cry, and….cry.

2. You can sing “Stayin’ Alive” with Lakisha (American Idol) and the Bee Gee’s.

3. Pick a book from an author you think you write better than, and try to find mistakes in their books. Make sure you take the book with you wherever you go and point out the mistakes to your grocer, mail carrier, mechanic, etc. (please don’t ever do that with my writing I make it too easy).

4. Stalk the editor that rejected your last submission.

5. Keep writing. Keep stretching yourself. Don’t give up, and your time (mine) will come, and then you can eat the ice cream.

This post was inspired by a Problogger group writing project for a chance to win $1001. If I win the prize, that check will be copied, framed, and all loved ones and strangers will be notified. It would be the first monetary by-product from my writing.

I could write 5 ways I would spend the $1001, but I won’t. I have great ideas especially for that dollar at the end.

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Momma Knows
    May 10, 2007 @ 22:15:08

    Well, I think your list is great! I think you should win the $1001. Frame the last $1?

  2. Rhys
    May 11, 2007 @ 02:53:57

    My top tip is generally to blog about it but hide key words. I got rejected from a job a couple of years back and I blogged about it.

    http://www.gospelrhys.co.uk/2006/03/happy-birthday-to-me.html

  3. Lucid
    May 11, 2007 @ 02:54:47

    Publishers want known authors because of the risk, and getting it self published is an exspensive nightmare. Where does one begin?

    I like your rejection solutions. Listen, rejection just gives us room to grow and strengthen. I say go full force, see where you go, and smile all the way. Stay positively stuborn 🙂

    Good Luck! I am sure it is not easy!

  4. Luisa
    May 11, 2007 @ 03:31:22

    I love that book so much; it’s one of the only ‘writing’ books I value.

    Of course, I’ll read almost anything Stephen King writes, and it’s a little eerie in a King-ish way that you mention him, because I was just ruminating this morning about writing a post entitled, “Why I Love Stephen King.” Freaky.

    Your list is good!

  5. Trackback: Top 5 - Group Writing Project Day 4
  6. Trackback: The Happy Burro » The Mall of America version of “Top 5″
  7. alicia
    May 11, 2007 @ 07:27:08

    Awesome list 🙂 Eating and singing are definitely beneficial for me, too. Of course, we must all keep writing. 🙂

  8. Trackback: Glen L Johnson dot com » See how easily you can find other blogs
  9. rjlight
    May 11, 2007 @ 07:52:17

    Hey, all thanks so much for commenting!!! I should have been clearer. The top 5 group project thingy has nothing to do with writing ability. Problogger will randomly pick a winner. So, if I win it has nothing to do with my skill and if I lose it doesn’t negate my skill!

    MommaKnows- okay, I’ll frame the $1 too!
    Rhys –yes, blogging is therapy, isn’t it?
    Lucid — thanks, I’ll keep at it!
    Luisa–You obviously don’t jump at your own shadow!
    Alicia–Ben & Jerry always lend a helping hand and a love-handle! 🙂

  10. Trackback: Final batch of Top Five Group Writing Project entries
  11. Trackback: Group Writing Project - Top 5 day 4 | Techie Buzz
  12. Trackback: Last day of the Top 5 - Group Writing Project from Problogger | Tech Lemming
  13. Trackback: Group Writing Project - Day 4 - Batch 3
  14. Trackback: Travis Eneix » Top 5 - Group Writing Project Day 4
  15. Trackback: ear sucker » Blog Archive » Group writing project - final
  16. Trackback: Perfection Consulting » Blog Archive » The Power of Linking
  17. Trackback: mincus code » How to Stand Out in a Sea of Fives - Firefox, Perl, Javascript
  18. Trackback: Top 5 Group Writing Project: And the Lucky Winner Is? | aczafra.com [Librarianship with a dash of everything]
  19. Trackback: Jestertunes » Group Writing Project Full List
  20. Trackback: And the winner is… [FitForFreedom]
  21. Trackback: Top 5 Listen | Wissen belastet
  22. Trackback: Body, Mind & Solar » Blog Archive » Spreading the Link Loving from the Writing Project
  23. Trackback: Randomness: 893 Top 5 Lists… | Photography and Art, Mostly…
  24. Trackback: Full List for Top 5 Contest « My Life With IT
  25. Trackback: Top 5 Group Writing Project Is Now Complete
  26. Trackback: Runningmonkeys » Blog Archive
  27. Trackback: Some link love to fellow Group Writers | Blogging Notes
  28. Trackback: Madhur Kapoor’s Blog » Problogger’s Group Writing Project - All entries
  29. Trackback: ProBlogger - Top 5 - Group Writing Project - Link Love » twentythree7
  30. Trackback: Problogger.net Top 5 Writing Project Final List - Plus6 …a personal finance blog
  31. tobeme
    May 14, 2007 @ 08:15:31

    Fun list! The key is to not take the rejections personally. They do not know you, a rejection may have nothing to do with your witing.

  32. rjlight
    May 14, 2007 @ 12:08:20

    tobeme – -thanks. Yes, I have to keep reminding myself this!

  33. Trackback: Juice on Celebrities, Celebrity Gossip, TV, Movies, & more… » Blog Archive » Top 5 Lists
  34. Trackback: Quais Waseeq Dot Com » Top 5 Group Writing Project - Recap
  35. Trackback:   ProBlogger's Top 5 Writing Project entries amounted to a total of 893!!! by :: Interesting Observations ::
  36. Trackback: Full List for Top 5 Contest — My Life With IT
  37. Trackback: Joseph Szymanski | Photographs | » Blog Archive » Randomness: 893 Top 5 Lists…
  38. Shaniqua Deuell
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 14:30:44

    Great blog here, such a wealth of content.

  39. Trackback: Top 5 - Group Writing Project Day 4 - @ProBlogger

Leave a Reply

