“We” are pregnant?

No, I’m not pregnant and my husband is not pregnant. As a matter of fact my husband has never been pregnant. I just want to make it very clear “we” cannot be pregnant unless the “we” is two women. To be pregnant is to carry a fetus. At this time in history men cannot carry fetusus (I so wanted to say feti) maybe when we get the cow to jump over the moon men will carry fetusus. “We” cannot carry the fetus, “we” cannot feel the contractions, “we” cannot push the baby out and “we” cannot breastfeed.

Now I don’t know how this got started. Did it start with that 1994 Junior movie starring Arnold Schwarzenegger in his pre-governator days? Did people really think that carrying the fetus was a shared experience after watching that movie? Did some man decide that the woman was getting too much attention so he decided to say that “we” were pregnant? I don’t know but “we” can make a baby and we can expect a baby to come, however, “we”cannot be pregnant.

Now, if when people are saying that “we” are pregnant as in we are “abounding in fancy, wit or resourcefulness” then that is correct. I don’t, however, think that is what people are meaning to say unless it is a coincidence that she happens to be carrying a fetus at the same time she and her husband are pregnant as in “abounding in fancy, wit or resourcefulness.” I do have to say my husband and I have been in that situation three times — “abounding in …. ” while I was pregnant.

Last night as I was ranting about the “we” pregnant thing to my husband he mentioned that royalty could say “we are pregnant”  as in the royal we. Because the royal crown is considered to belong to the people, apparently, when royalty gets pregnant it’s the whole country carrying the fetus.  Okay, I’ll let all of England carry those royal babies, but here in the US can “we” stop being pregnant? We are done with this post now. We are going to get something to eat.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diesel
    May 30, 2007 @ 20:29:00

    Yeah, that’s never sounded right to me. I don’t believe I ever claimed to be pregnant when my kids were under development.

  2. Luisa
    May 31, 2007 @ 03:15:01

    I think it is a confusion with the phrase “we are expecting.” Both parents can expect, even though ONE DOES ALL THE WORK.

    I agree with you. But I do often refer to the time when Patrick was in law school as the years “we were in law school.” So I can’t point fingers too much.

  3. Jim
    May 31, 2007 @ 08:34:30

    I don’t know, my ex-girlfriend and I always agreed that it’s sort of cute and it really implies that the man is a major part of bringing this child into the world even if he doesn’t get to carry it. I mean, don’t get me wrong, the women do all the real work (as usual), but it sort of makes it a team thing. Like not just a “I’m being supportive” thing.

    I don’t know. Haha, I can see how it could easily annoy you though. No question!

  4. rjlight
    May 31, 2007 @ 11:04:52

    Diesel — glad to know you never claimed to be pregnant
    Luisa — well, you both were probably in law school
    Jim–hmmm. cute. well. I don’t know. “We are expecting” is just as supportive and doesn’t imply a fetus is growing inside your body at the same time.

  5. Momma Knows
    May 31, 2007 @ 18:42:39

    And you’re NOT pregnant, right? 😀

  6. Kelly
    Jun 01, 2007 @ 09:11:17

    I hate when people say “we are pregnant”. I don’t know why but “feti” made me laugh!

  7. Ask Lucid
    Jun 02, 2007 @ 04:03:56

    Though I “we” lol never used the term that way, I understand people do it sometimes so that the dad can feel included or important through out the pregnancy. But, I agree, it sounds weird.

    The first time I heard someone say that “We are Pregnant” I was confused and wondered how 🙂

    Have a nice weekend!!

    Lucid

  8. rjlight
    Jun 03, 2007 @ 19:20:25

    momma knows — NO! I’m not pregnant!

    Kelly –I’m glad you got a laugh out of it!

    Lucid — I did have a nice weekend, I hope you did too! I understand making the dad feel included but it’s already that the dad had something to do with it! 🙂

  9. Theresa
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 00:40:11

    Who knows, maybe in the future….nah, men will never let that happen. Maybe it’s all part of the political correctness thing, nobody should feel excluded, so we’ll just say “we”.

  10. rjlight
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 06:48:48

    Theresa — men couldn’t handle the pain! Again, everyone knows it takes two…

  11. Alincom
    Nov 08, 2007 @ 20:18:42

    I agree – wierd to have people say “we are pregnant” — what is this “we” thing? Ugh!

  12. Jesse
    Mar 21, 2008 @ 18:21:22

    The next time a couple says that to me, I will scrunch up my brow, tilt my head to one side, and then proceed to place both of my hands on their bellies without saying a word.

  13. jack the ripper
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 01:45:23

    i hate this expression!! there is no reason for saying “we”, when only one is pregnant

  14. sssdad
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 17:08:00

    I HATE THAT EXPRESSION .. TO MY GORGEOUS WIFE : DO NOT EVER USE THAT EXPRESSION, AND I MEAN EEEEVER !!!!!!!!!!!

  15. Sa
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 15:54:20

    My sister-in-law is pregnant and my brother announced it as “we are pregnant”. I realise it’s a team thing but technically he isn’t pregnant. I told my friends they were expecting a baby. Not that “they” were pregnant. If I was pregnant and possibly hormonal I would probably get pissy if my partner constantly said “we”, as unromantic and un-cutesy as that might be on my part. When I’m pushing the baby out I wouldn’t want my partner saying “We are in labour”.

  16. Hazie
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 17:58:08

    I like the “we are expecting”. “We” are never pregnant!

  17. Ms. BearClawz
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 20:13:40

    We should never say we’re pregnant, unless we can say “we’re ejaculating”, or “we have an erection.”

  18. Beeee
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 17:26:28

    Thank you for this! It goes right straight up my crack when I hear people saying “we are pregnant.”

  19. Don
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 21:24:55

    I am sure this article has touched all the internet viewers, its
    really really nice post on building up new blog.

  20. Ms. Bear Clawz
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 18:40:21

    Men just want what they want, when they want it. Any other time, they do not want to be bothered with us wives and our girlie, silly ways, and actions. Now all of a sudden, we are letting them play a big control of a female space. Do wrong women!!

  21. Jean
    May 10, 2013 @ 10:51:06

    It’s good to know women want to include their husbands and vice versa, but a husband is not pregnant. The wife is. He is waiting on the baby that will be born, but he is not pregnant. Why do women always want to include their husbands in on everything in their bodies and their minds, but men push wives away from us and keep something about themselves, strictly to tehmselves.
    Do you ever hear men and women say, “We have an erection?” or “We are about to ejaculate the sperm so we will be pregnant?” Absolutely not, the man will not allow the women to intrude in theri spaces. We allow men too much intrusion. What happened to boundaries and autonomy?

  22. luc649
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 21:37:50

    Not tonight honey , we have a headache !

  23. Jean
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36:12

    Yes, not tonight, because all you do is thrust and never want to take the time to satisfy me your wife, hah!!

  24. PK
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 17:05:40

    one day over a rainbow, men will wake up from their fantasy world and realize that they do not and no longer will control anyone but themselves and have absolutely no power over women’s bodies.

    Whew

  25. jean
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 17:06:48

    Great !

Leave a Reply

