Matrimonial Salon Duty

We are trying to save money. We are in the bay area of California and are trying to save money. That was one of the funniest things I’ve ever written! Anyway, I do like to enhance my natural blond hair with a some of the blond that faded away with experience, stress and childbearing.

In Spain it was cheaper to get my hair highlighted than it is here. There was a price to pay though. I had to sit through a lecture or two about child rearing or any number of things.

When I first moved to Spain and was just learning to communicate I had a hairstylist that kept a cigarette hanging out of his mouth as he cut my hair. I never wanted him to highlight my hair for fear that my hair would ignite. He knew how to cut my hair though so I continued going to him for awhile and came home from every appointment with that nice Camel-Shampoo freshness.

When we moved into a new town I found a new hairstylist. She was very good at what she did, but her mother always had to give me a lecture about something. My hairstylist loved to listen to American music and asked me to translate the lyrics all of the time. Every visit was amusing or annoying. I don’t like to talk when I get my hair done. I like to relax and that didn’t happen in the salon in Spain. They did a great job, but it wasn’t relaxing.

The first time I went to my last hairstylist I had just gotten back from being in the states for awhile. I was trying to save money and had asked my husband if he would highlight my hair. He was very thorough with the highlights. Do you remember how the angel’s head would light up on that old Touched by An Angel tv show? Well, that’s what I looked like all the time. I scared people when I walked into a room. Anyway, when I went back to Spain the hairstylist asked what happened to me. I explained and got a huge lecture. Her mother said that it wasn’t my husband’s fault my hair looked like that; it was my fault for being so stupid and letting him touch it!

So, I let her enhance my hair until I moved back to California. That’s when I went to the hair beautify aisle at the store and bought the box. I carefully put it in the bathroom and begged my husband to try again. He reluctantly agreed to give it another try–commending me for my thriftiness.

I quietly sat still as my husband expertly embellished my hair. Well, no, I whined and begged him to do a good job. Reminded him of his children I birthed, and watched his every move. After he was done I reminded myself that I like the color orange and that hair grows back.

My hair didn’t fall out at the shampoo stage so it’s now for the mirror-test. Well, um, money saved $130 (less money for a hat). Bonding time with my husband–priceless.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 04:03:15

    I do the same thing…go to a stylist and LOVE the look but cringe at the price and then end up buying a box the next time. Then I hate it but continue to do it for about a year, and then finally head back to the stylist. Besides the whopping price tag on highlighting, there’s the inevitibility that she will begin at LEAST one hour after my scheduled appointment and then take at least 2-3 hours to complete the job. Who has that kind of time???

  2. Momma Knows
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 13:31:44

    Home highlights? You are BRAVE! I’ve done my daughters’ (both) and I’ll be the first to admit I’M JUST NOT THAT GOOD! I told them after the last time, to save up and get it done somewhere. As for me, I have colored my own hair at home for 15 years, but no highlights. I don’t change the color much, I know how to do my roots without ruining the rest, and no one can tell (other than me, since the inch of silver at the crown is always covered!) But would I let my hubby do it? Not a CHANCE!

  3. rjlight
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 18:36:37

    Diane — yep, I look so much better when I walk out of the salon but feel so much poorer!

    Momma Knows — I’m not brave–just poor and stupid!

  4. Ask Lucid
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 19:03:23

    All I have to say is, “You must have alot of trut in your husband!!!” and I think that is great! 🙂

  5. Ask Lucid
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 19:04:31

    OMG sorry about the spelling {sigh} the word was suppose to be “trust” not trut… – oops!

  6. Theresa
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 00:35:39

    You wanted to relax in a Spanish hair salon? That is an impossible feat, everyone there must know every last detail about your life, it’s imperative. The last time I went was just before my daughter’s communion, and there was a guy that was getting his hair cut. He had some bald spots, and all the women were giving their opinion on why his hair was falling out and giving him advice about how to fix it. They started telling stories of so-and-so who also had a similar problem, and used some kind of vitamins….someone else who had stress and their hair fell out…and so on and so forth. Then the conversation went off on a tangent and they started talking about how people used to color their hair back in the old days (they all must have been around 70 or 80) – They said some used shoe polish, and others used the black coating that forms on the outside of iron frying pans….I don’t know if they were kidding or not, but I tend to believe it. Going to the hairdresser here is definitely an experience.

    About the highlights, when I don’t henna, I do my own highlights and they come out okay.

  7. rjlight
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 06:43:29

    Lucid — yes, I do have trust in him because he is a perfectionist — however, he needs to perfect his highlighting techniques.

    Theresa– Believe it or not I actually miss all of that! Those conversations were fun to listen too! I liked it when everyone was trying to solve the problem of some poor person who never asked for their advice — when I wasn’t the poor person.

  8. Theresa
    Jun 08, 2007 @ 01:02:43

    Actually, it is fun. I live in a small town where everybody knows everyone else and so the gossip level just goes through the roof. The older ladies are the funniest, they always have some great stories, and my hairdresser’s kids go to school with mine, so we’ve always got something to talk about.

  9. Jenna
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 07:06:10

    I love that you ‘enhance’ and ’embellish’ your hair. I started doing my color at home a few years ago too, to save money. My husband is also the designated colorist, although my 13 year old daughter is getting pretty good too. Ah, the things we will risk to not have gray!!!

  10. rjlight
    Jun 12, 2007 @ 06:42:33

    Jenna — of course we are just perfecting what is already there…:)

Leave a Reply

