the replacements

We’ve been replaced already. We are moving next week and our apartment complex has already found our replacements. We went down to the pool yesterday and met them. Three kids, two boys and one girl and the youngest is 2-years-old, has the same color hair color as my almost-2-year-old, and has the same name. It was a bit weird when I heard the other mother call their little one “Wilberforce” — I didn’t think it was such a common name.

They were better looking than us too. They even looked like they had some money. It was like the new improved version of our family. Younger (well, two of the kids were), tan and sweet. Also, I bet she writes and actually makes money doing it.

So we move in a week and apparently the apartment community will make it without us. They won’t even know we’ve left. They have the new, improved rjlight family and we will just move on.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. T
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 19:57:59

    We all are replaced at sometimes in our lives. I am assuming you are talking jokingly. But even if you aren’t. the world doesn’t notice what it use to and it is up to us to make them aware of our importance no matter how small we seem to be.
    I lived in Michigan 5 years before my neighbor would even speak to me. So although she knew I was fresh blood to the community she did not hesitate to make me full aware of just how unimportant I was to her and it would be in her own sweet time that she would acknowledge me.

  2. Luisa
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 04:10:05

    I wonder about the folks you are replacing at your new place…

    I love the new banner photo!

  3. rjlight
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 14:11:18

    T – yes, I am joking this is my attempt at humor. Sorry about your neighbor in Michigan — gone are the days when the neighborhood looks after each other and gets together… thanks for your comment

    Luisa, after seeing the junk our landlord had to haul out of the house I think we are the improvement! ha! ha! thanks I thought it was summery and cheerful–those seals were getting me down –they seemed so lazy.

Leave a Reply

