Finding the Inner Critic

After reading so many writing articles and books, I have discovered that I am suppose to have an inner critic. I read that I must discover the inner critic, find him/her and maybe even name him/her. (Okay the naming part was my addition, but just so I don’t have to write “him/her” — this will make it simpler). My inner critic will be named Beezus.

After a short search on the internet I found that I am to do various things with Beezus:

  • I am to “embrace my inner critic”. That proved to be a bit difficult. Since Beezus is “inner” I’ve not figured out yet how to embrace Beezus. I decided to give up on the hugging and just say “Hey, Beezus, it’s all cool.”
  • I am to “invite the inner critic to leave”. Okay, this is confusing, first I am to welcome Beezus, give her a hug, and then ask her to leave? Won’t I be sending mixed signals?
  • I am to “tame my inner critic”. How am I suppose to tame Beezus when I just told her to get out? I guess after telling her it’s all cool and then telling her to leave she has become unmanageable and wild–confused with her place in my life. In taming Beezus I am to listen to what she says and then say the opposite of what she is saying. “Beezus, I’m listening, but you’re gonna have to talk louder because the kids are arguing.”
  • Finally, I should “make friends with my inner critic.” Okay, after all of this do you really think Beezus wants to be my friend?

Apparently, after all of this, Beezus can then become my “inner champion”. An inner champion is great, but what I really need is for her to babysit Friday night.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Luisa
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 14:09:21

    Inner critic? I’ve got one I’ll sell you cheap. And she’s a fine babysitter, as long as your cupboards are well-stocked.

  2. Diesel
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 21:45:15

    Can I have her? I promise to treat her better than you did.

    Unless she’s a bitch.

  3. Anne Bradshaw
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 04:53:25

    You wouldn’t want my inner critic. She worries way too much, and dances in my dreams. Not good.

  4. Kara
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 13:59:06

    Man.

    “Give me a hug. Get out. Shut up. Be my friend?”

    Sounds like an old boyfriend of mine. I don’t think you want to treat Beezus like my psychotic ex-boyfriend.

    Or she’ll slash your tires (I’m just guessing here).

  5. Lucid
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 08:32:07

    That is cute! Is there some where in the rules where Beezus can step down if need be. What happens if she is too hard??? 🙂

  6. tobeme
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 14:11:54

    Cute! What did your inner critic say about this post, hmmm?

  7. Guilty Secret
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 02:37:43

    Ha ha love it very funny and cute 😉
    I’m trying to think of a name for my inner critic now, but nothing I come up with is good enough…

  8. rjlight
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 06:32:19

    I’ve had internet problems so haven’t been online. Thanks for all the comments! For now I will keep Beezus–we have been through so much together. I would rather not borrow anyone else’s inner critic.

    Guilty Secret–just ask her what her/his name is!

  9. Brent
    Jul 21, 2007 @ 17:28:43

    I recommend an exorcism to get your inner critic outside where it can be subdued and sedated.

    It is only slowing you down.

  10. rjlight
    Jul 23, 2007 @ 19:27:36

    brent — yes, I might have to resort to that…

Leave a Reply

