Job Experience Part III

So here we go again on to the riveting part III of my job experience. Yes, people are on the edge of their ergonomic chairs just waiting for the next exciting part. I know I’ve had a hard time waiting to see what I was going to write next.

After mastering manual transmission without first gear (my dad was always in the process of fixing up old cars this, being a 1979 Saab Sonnett without 1st gear and barely anything else), I started my adventure in the pizza business. The first week was rather challenging as I had to memorize numbers for all of the toppings. To this day I can still remember the numbers for a mushroom pizza with anchovies, and yet I can’t remember my zip code.

Lessons learned from pizza creating at Round Table Pizza:

  • Drunk bowlers can be very crude
  • Beer smells horrible dumped on a counter 
  • Working in a team can be much more fun than working alone
  • There are some terribly lonely people out there

  Perks of the job:

  • Pizza–I still love it
  • Meeting lots of interesting and not-so interesting people
  • A free shirt that I still own when Round Table introduced the Hawaiian pizza

Would I do this job again?

Well, probably not now. It was great on Friday nights in high school working along side other kids my age. I don’t think I would have the same exact experience now–I only know how to make pizzas with 80’s music playing in the background.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Luisa
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 09:43:09

    I love NY pizza, but I do miss me some Round Table. But maybe it only tastes good after a few games of Pac-Man and Donkey Kong.

  2. rjlight
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 06:26:07

    Yes, the pizza experience is enhanced by Pac-Man–it’s been scientifically proven.

  3. Diesel
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 20:40:02

    Round table is pretty good pizza. We had it last night at a meeting at church.

    I worked at a pizza place for 3 weeks once. I worked at a lot of places for 3 weeks.

  4. rjlight
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 06:34:19

    Diesel — If you ate pizza at church then you must of had the 80’s music playing in the background.

  5. tobeme
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 10:04:59

    Making pizzas was my third paying job too!

  6. rjlight
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 13:43:47

    tobeme — I bet you my 4th paying job wasn’t the same…

  7. Trackback: The One about the Pizza « a-muse-ing

Leave a Reply

