What makes me laugh

If you haven’t noticed, I haven’t been blogging as much as I normally do. I’ve been watching too much tv I must confess. Well, that and writing and yelling at my computer, and working, and raising 3 kids, and eating. I should be reading more, I know, but I like to laugh and the Fall always brings with it some new comedy shows that I feel obliged to watch. I haven’t been laughing too much at the shows though.

On the screen (the little one that comes with reasonably priced popcorn) there are a few interesting, sorta funny new shows. Gone are the days when sitcom on television meant real laughter (goodbye Friends, Seinfeld, Arrested Development), now is the age of the almost-funny.

 First of all,  I will give 3 laughs to 30 Rock which has done a good job at making me smile all the time and laugh 78.9% of the time. 30 Rock isn’t new this season though so back to the new shows. After hearing that Kelsey Grammer (Frasier) was back on tv in a new show with Patricia Heaton (Everyone Love’s Raymond) I got my hopes up for Back to You. It has been humorous.  Heaton and Grammer have great comedic timing so that helps where the writing misses.  It’ not hilarious, but most shows aren’t the first season. You have to give the cast time to gel or fall apart.

After Back To You is ’til Death. This show tries hard to be funny. It knocks on the door to funny, but just never crosses the threshold. I’ve tried it and I’m gonna have to spend those 30 minutes reading from now on.

The previews of Samantha Who? starring Christina Applegate, looked interesting, so I was hopeful when I sat down on my butt next to my husband with my bowl of ice cream (very small bowl).  I have to say the writing was good, and I think it has potential. I don’t know how they can keep the idea going on–woman has amnesia doesn’t remember her life–will she eventually remember more things and then die a slow death? It was the most watched new comedy according to ABC, but I think it was because there were so many viewers watching the Dances with the Stars show.  Okay, since I mentioned Dances with the Stars I have to ask, why do people watch this show? Why? Is Dances with the Stars the Baby Boomer’s version of The Lawrence Welk Show?  It did make me laugh a couple of times when I watched it once and then my husband explained it wasn’t a comedy.

I must confess, the thing that makes me laugh the most right now is a radio commercial. I can’t even tell you what it is for — because it’s not very effective at selling but it makes me smile every time I hear it. It uses this voice that sounds like the Texas Instruments Speak and Spell toy I owned when I was in elementary school. You know that computer voice?  If you don’t know what I am talking about you must click on those links, and if you do remember you still should click on those links to remind yourself why you can’t spell.

I read an article somewhere that said that it is harder to get women to laugh than men. I don’t know if that is true. I am curious, have any of you seen these shows? No, my readers are too sophisticated for television. If you happen to have accidentally watched one or two –I would like to hear your opinion.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brent
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 19:26:32

    I have given up on TV. I like Flight of the Conchords, but I don’t have cable and only see it at other people’s houses.

    The family and I have been getting Smallville on Netflix. Some of the episodes remind me of the X-files, but most of the I end up wondering what happened to all the grown-ups.

    You are right of course, TV viewing and writing don’t coexist very well.

    Don’t give up.

  2. wolf
    Oct 20, 2007 @ 08:17:11

    I don’t watch much TV either, but for laughs I can heartily recommend Two and a Half Men. Last week I also tuned in to Carpoolers for the first time, and was pleasantly surprised. I think it’ll be worth watching.
    Nice blog you’ve got here. Mind if I stay awhile and poke around?

  3. Theresa
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 07:35:42

    I haven’t seen any of those shows because we don’t have them here yet. They’ll be starting the 4th season of House next week and we’re on the first season of Heroes. What we like best though, is watching re-runs of Friends, it’s still the funniest thing around. I’ll be waiting for your reviews on all the new stuff before it gets to Spain.

  4. madmad
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 05:37:06

    Yeah… TV has gotten boring. I end up feeling angry I wasted the time. Somehow I’ve gotten sucked into that Pushing Daisies show, though. But God, I miss Seinfeld and Arrested Development. Now those were the days.

  5. Debbie
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 13:06:16

    I’m not sure if it has premiered yet, but The Church of Reggie is supposed to be promising. Former Arrested Development producer Chuck Tatham is the creator.

    The last television series I actually watched consistently was Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

    I know we are supposed to be discussing television, however; if you like the “no holds barred weirdness” type humor (arrested development) then the new movie directed by Jason Reitman, Juno, is a must see.

    It has been a long time since I went to a movie but I managed to go see Gone Baby Gone and it was really well done. It is hard to watch but well worth it. I guarantee you will not leave the theater without discussing the movie’s ending. (Guarantee or I’ll refund your tickets personally!)

  6. rjlight
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 13:18:19

    Brent –I’ve never seen Smallville or the Concords thingy. I couldn’t give up tv altogether, but I will watch less of it and read more.

    Theresa– at least you have House. That is the best thing on tv anyway. I used to watch it in Spanish and then it was so weird to see it in English here!

  7. rjlight
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 13:21:18

    wolf–thanks for visiting. Poke around, try some ice cream, meet the neighbors, make yourself comfortable.

    madmad–yeah, I’ve seen parts of the daisy show. It’s on the same time as 30 Rock I think so I end up watching that show and half of the Daisy show.

    Debbie–hmmm, haven’t heard of that one yet. Could be funny, of course if I like it they’ll pull it. I want to see Gone Baby Gone — Ben’s career is depending on it! I heard it was good and the previews look very good.

  8. the frogster
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 09:41:47

    Informative and educational. I do beg to differ on The New York Minute, though. I spend a fair amount of time in NYC, and the best definition I’ve heard of a New York Minute is the amount of time between the Manhattan traffic light turning green and the guy behind you leaning on his horn, which, I must say, is quite a bit shorter than 60 seconds.

  9. rjlight
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 12:31:23

    frogster — the NY minute was the last post. Anyway, the important question is does everything change in a NY minute?

  10. CuriousC
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 13:26:23

    I agree with wolf! I never watched Two&Half Men until it was in reruns (same way I watched Seinfeld,Friends,King of Queens and remember 3rd Rock?! loved that show!) Two&Half Men and ESPN/’ball’ is all I find myself watching…

  11. tania
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 15:25:43

    ok, anyone ever hear of the mighty boosh? you want a laugh and a bit of a trip, thats the show for you- bbc, but you can find most episodes on youtube or dvd.

Leave a Reply

