Grammar 911

I came upon some information about a website when I was reading one of my writing books. There is a website called the grammar lady. Now I think it is very helpful to have grammar help. Believe me, I know I have a run-on sentence habit like no one else. However, what I found so interesting about this website is that they also have a hotline available M-F from 9 to 5. Well, apparently, they used to have one; however, I couldn’t find it on the current website. I imagine they got bombarded with urgent phone calls and had to discontinue the service. Can’t you just hear the frantic phone calls?

“Grammar lady, my husband just split an infinitive. Should I leave him?”

“I can’t remember how to diagram a sentence and my in-laws are staying the weekend.”

“Should I not never use a double negative or is it not never helpful?”

“I’m having a dinner party tonight and can’t get my subject and verb to agree.”

“My son’s modifiers have been dangling for weeks now. Does he need treatment?”

“Grammar lady, Tom has been speaking in the third person, what should Tom do? Tom would not being calling you if Tom wasn’t serious about needing help. Tom is annoying everyone Tom speaks to.”

Yep, the Emily Post of grammar could get no rest. The phone was ringing off the hook with grammar emergencies. And you thought your life was difficult.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. narziss
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 01:51:08

    Hehehe. Amazing ones. I loved the Tom one especially!

  2. WhoreChurch
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 04:47:19

    Your write.

  3. Dan
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 08:54:03

    Funny stuff. That’s not a complete sentence, is it?

  4. rjlight
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 10:09:27

    narziss–Thanks
    WhoreChurch–yep
    Dan — hmmm.
    All –You know what is pathetic is I had at least 2 grammar errors in this post. I wasn’t sure if I should change them. What if those errors were the funny part? Serves me write–I mean right.

  5. Theresa
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 04:50:02

    Grammar Lady to the rescue. God, she could be up there with Superman and Wonder Woman and stuff, and she’d even be able to wear a cool costume…maybe with commas on it or something. Do they pay well? Maybe you should consider taking her place – now that would be a cool job; you could do it from home, and still have time to write. 🙂

  6. rjlight
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 13:47:21

    Theresa–I can see kids all over the world dressing like her for Halloween or Carnival…

  7. Jenna
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 22:54:41

    I’m cracking up! This was one of your funniest posts ever! Luisa would love this one!

  8. Stephen
    Dec 25, 2007 @ 17:31:18

    Looks like there WAS a grammar lady. It’s now a spam site. 😥

Leave a Reply

