Papyrus Card

Once upon a time, I decided that I could become a greeting card writer. This was shortly after I started my blog almost 1 year ago today (more on that later). I had read about a greeting card company that needed humorous greeting cards. I considered myself to be moderately comical and thought that I might earn some easy cash.  For days I slaved over catchy little greetings for retirement, new baby, and birthday cards. At last, after compiling (30) 3 x5 cards with the best of rjlight, I sent my envelope off in the mail. Three months later I received my (30) 3×5 cards back to me in the mail with a sweet little rejection note. My (30) cards sit in my file cabinet to remind me of my brief greeting card career.

The history of the greeting card is quite interesting. Okay it’s moderately interesting. Okay, it just is. The first greeting cards were supposedly made in ancient Egypt on papyrus scrolls. Can you imagine The Far Side on papyrus? Or maybe that great birthday card with the monkey. Then you open it up, and there is a mirror, so you’re the monkey– this was a classic 70’s card. Would it have been just as funny on papyrus?

In the early 1400’s there were New Year’s cards sent in Europe. Apparently, the Germans made greetings out of wood carvings. Can you imagine the postage on those wooden cards?

There are some other things going on in the next 400 years, however, the actual greeting card business then started in the 1800’s. The Christmas card was then produced for a willing market in England.

Jump up another 100 years or so, and in the 1950’s humorous cards started to gain popularity (This disproves my Dilbert on papyrus vision –oh, no, it was Far Side–you didn’t believe me anyway.)

Basically, after all of this journey down greeting card history lane, I have come to a conclusion that I would have had a stellar career making papyrus scroll greetings. I write pretty fast, which is essential in scroll writing, because the scroll keeps rolling up on you as you write.  

(the historical information was compiled from the Greeting Card Association website)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dlight
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 09:07:22

    I would recommend that you save your cards for family members because I am sure they would not catch on…

  2. rjlight
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 17:44:52

    hmmm, except they are just 3 x 5 cards — I don’t do art work.

Leave a Reply

