Anniversary — this day on the last day of 2006

This day in history in 2006, I started my blog. It wasn’t named “a-muse-ing” at the beginning. It had some other title which I don’t even remember. I started the new year with a main writing goal: to be published and paid for my writing by year end. I am pleased to say that sitting on my desk is a framed (thanks to my husband) copy of my first writing check. It is dated November 20, 2007—yes, I just made it! You might find the following information amusing. They have directly impacted my life tremendously.

1909: The Manhattan Bridge opened. I don’t remember this.

1948: Donna Summer, singer was born in Boston, MA. I have fond memories of roller skating to her disco tunes many years after that date.

1957: First New Year’s Eve Party in Disneyland. I have fond memories of going to Disneyland, but not on New Year’s Eve.

1969: The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes starring Kurt Russell is released in theatres. I have fond memories of watching movies, but I’ve never seen this classic.

1984: The nation’s first mandatory seatbelt law goes into effect in New York. I have fond memories of putting on my seatbelt in the back seat of my mom’s yellow Ford Pinto Station Wagon, only it was never in New York and it was years earlier. It didn’t stay on for long, on extended trips (trips over 15 minutes), because I would crawl back into the way back and pretend to sleep.

In 2006, Time’s Person of the Year was “You”. I was you then too.

According to the Old Farmer’s Almanac, if you were born on December 31st, you are “impulsive, and emotional in the affairs of the heart, and you need love and devotion to make you happy and contented.” I wasn’t born on December 31 and don’t know anyone who had been born on that date. Although I always thought it would be cool to be the first baby born in the new year. Too late for that one.

2008 is a leap year because it is divisible by four, you can say, a leap year is every four years. Or it’s another day to eat ice cream and watch Brady Brunch reruns.

What are you going to do with that extra day this year?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Luisa
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 09:25:06

    Happy New Year, and Happy Anniversary! I’m sure this year will bring you more checks for your writing.

  2. rjlight
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 10:11:58

    Thank you! Happy New Year back to you and a BIG congratulations!

  3. BrentD
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 14:06:38

    Congratulation’s on your check, mine is still in the mail.

    As for my extra day, I will try to fit in as much Ben and Jerry’s as I possibly can into it and brainstorm ingenious plans to advance my writing to the paid stage as well.

    Happy New Year and Happy Blog-thday.

  4. Debbie
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 07:17:44

    Good for you rj! How sweet of your husband to frame it for you.

    I’m sure the next round of checks will be bigger and more frequent (but maybe not as special huh?)

    Happy New Year!

  5. rjlight
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 13:29:38

    Thank you to all! I hope the checks will keep coming and get bigger too!

Leave a Reply

