The Scent of Flowers

I’ve finally talked to a business owner that understands the meaning of customer service. I have wondered if maybe he should train people on how to keep the customers coming back again and again. At my job today, some flowers arrived for my boss. These flowers strangely reaked of cigarette smoke. Both the card and all the flowers reaked of stale Marlboros or maybe they were Camels — but they didn’t smell like fresh flowers.

My boss who is recuperating from an operation couldn’t even enjoy the flowers because she is allergic to cigarette smoke. So I called the florist:

Me: “Hi, we just got some flowers delivered from your florist shop and they reak of cigarette smoke.”

Florist: “Really? That is so weird. That has never happened before. What should I do?”

Me: “Well, I think you should send her more flowers so that she can enjoy them because she is allergic to cigarette smoke. I think the people that sent them to her would like her to enjoy them also.”

Florist: “Hmm, well, I don’t know. I don’t think the smell should last long. Hmm, there aren’t any flowers that have the scent of cigarette so this can’t be the flowers. I guess the driver was smoking?”

Me: “Yes, it would appear so. Can I speak to the owner?”

Florist: “I am the owner.”

Me: “Okay (disbelief) um, well, no one wants to receive fresh flowers that smell like smoke. Was this an employee that delivered them or do you use a service?”

Florist: “It is a service, but this has never happened before.”

Me: “Okay, well, I think you might want to tell the service that they shouldn’t allow their drivers to smoke around the flowers.”

Florist: “Are you against smokers?”

Me: “No, I don’t have anything against smokers. I’m not telling the man that he can’t smoke, but he shouldn’t be smoking near the flowers. Flowers are supposed to smell like flowers not cigarette smoke.”

Florist: “So what should I do?”

Me: “I think you should send new flowers that don’t smell like smoke so she can enjoy them.”

Florist: “So you want me to deliver the flowers myself? Can the driver deliver them again?”

Me: “I really don’t care who delivers them as long as they smell and look nice.”

Florist: “Okay, okay, I get your point. I’ll have more flowers delivered tomorrow. Okay?”

Me: “Thank you.”

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Piper of Love
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 21:16:14

    Way to play hard ball! And make me pee myself with the pink lips and ipod line… you are a hoot!

    ~xo

  2. Theresa
    Jan 29, 2008 @ 01:44:27

    Way to go! So, did your boss get the new flowers? Did the same guy deliver them? Enquiring minds want to know.

  3. Luisa
    Jan 29, 2008 @ 11:01:44

    Glad you stuck to your guns. Ewwwwwww.

  4. tobeme
    Jan 29, 2008 @ 14:39:07

    Ugh! Amazing that she kept asking you what she should do.

  5. Momma Knows
    Jan 30, 2008 @ 09:23:41

    You were nicer than I would have been. Cigarette smoke gives me migraines, and I detest the odor anywhere, on any thing.

  6. WhoreChurch
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 14:49:50

    How dare you think the OWNER should take care of your petty problems. Do you have any idea how many things the OWNER has to worry about beyond your personal satisfaction? Why, (s)he has tax forms to fill out and inventory to maintain and bills to send. Why would you think your petty problem should matter when (s)he has so many things going on behind the scenes you can’t possibly know about?

    Geez it’s almost like you expect CUSTOMERS to come first…well, let me tell you, how do you expect him to stay in business if he doesn’t get this other stuff done?

  7. Debbie
    Feb 01, 2008 @ 15:05:25

    You could have told her to put on her Big Girl Panties and deal with it!

  8. Diesel
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 21:29:19

    WTF? Did you catch him during his nap or something?

Leave a Reply

