Moving mountains to find old sausages

I am in the midst of moving. Oh, the joys of moving. It is not fair that I should experience these joys so often. Others should share in this bliss. Right now I am trying to use up the freezer items. It is a bit scary what you find in the freezer. My husband will be happy to find that I am making a pie for him today. It’s his birthday tomorrow. But the reason I am making a pie is because I found a frozen pie crust I had made a month ago (it’s still good) and frozen berries. Well, I thought I had frozen strawberries, blackberries and rasberries. Actually I had frozen strawberries, blackberries and vegetarian sausages. I decided it will be a strawberry-blackberry pie. The sausages can be thrown into a quiche or garbage. I have a hard time throwing good food away, or in this case okay food away,  or to be truthful, icky-I-really-didn’t-like food away.

I guess I could put them in my “memory” box. This is the box that has the earrings that are missing their mates. The box also has other items I wore for some reason and can’t seem to get rid of. And, of course, it contains the baby clothes that I have to pull out every now and then and sigh and say, “How did they grow up so fast?” Now I can say, “Who put the frozen sausages next to my firstborn’s lock of hair?”

So I might need to throw away the vegetarian sausages. The important thing is that I now have a mixture of berries baking in the oven into a delightful syrupy mess without even a hint of sage or any other herbs normally used in the making of sausage.

I found an old onion in the refrigerator. I think it will have to go to the compost pile. Although the bulb was growing into a beautiful green flower…but I don’t have time to cultivate the rare white onion flower. I must pack and make meals out of the freezer items. Let’s see waffles covered with chicken stir-fry–that would work for tonight. For tomorrow night it’s naan bread with corn, peas and sausage with a delicate ginger sauce. Who wants to come over for dinner?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tobeme
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 12:25:29

    Moving is always an adventure and the treasures one finds are priceless.

  2. Emmasome
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 08:19:13

    There is always room for pie.

    I’ll bring the ice cream……

    Do veggie sausages taste good?

  3. Diesel
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 11:53:04

    I don’t think vegetarian sausages qualify as food, so you can in good conscience throw them out. I mean, unless they’re made from real vegetarians.

  4. Jenna
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 12:46:58

    I have to stand up for the veggie sausages now. They’re getting a bad rap. My parents are vegetarians, and so I’ve bought them before and have fooled my husband and kids with them. They’re not that bad! One of my favorite things to do with them is to make them into biscuits and gravy. Well, make them into the gravy to put ON the biscuits. You know, the white creamy gravy, then chop up or crumble up the sausages….you’ll never suspect they’re not meat.

    Other than that, have fun with your remaining fridge/freezer adventures!

  5. Theresa
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 03:35:09

    I’m with Diesel, vegetarian sausages don’t count as real food, at least not as real sausages, so toss ’em. Or you could always give them to some neighbor that you don’t like very much. 😉

  6. rjlight
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 10:41:01

    So the sausages had to go. They were all iced-over. They were okay the first few times. The lesson here is to not buy veggie sausages in bulk.

  7. Novembrance
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 15:33:02

    Vegetarian sausages = oxymoron. But the pie sounds fab!

Leave a Reply

