Am I out in the country?

Before we moved to the central valley of California, we were in a neighborhood with a fairly busy street. Occasionally, a homeless person would wander by to look through the trash. Now the cars are only the people who are living in our neighborhood or are helping build one of the houses.

Right next to my daughter’s school is some farm land with two very hairy horses. My son’s school sits in between vineyards, and I drive by an orange grove and 2 other vineyards to take him to school.

So, am I in the country now? I don’t hear a rooster each morning, so I must not be real country folk. I seldom smell the scent of fresh manure, so, once again, I must not be in the country. And, the only pet we have is the Rosie, the orange and yellow fish, so we must not be in the country. I can’t seem to find a radio station that doesn’t play country music though, so what does that mean?

Okay, so it only means I have left my more urban environment for a bit of greenery. I enjoy seeing the vineyards every morning, but I do wish the area was more walkable–well at least to a bakery coffee shop. I do love my new house and the quiet peaceful neighborhood. I don’t like that I do not have a paying job and feel the pressure to write words that people want to exchange for a bit of moolah. I guess you can’t have everything.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Novembrance
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 15:31:24

    Sounds like the “ex-urbs” to me. It sounds great despite the lack of proximity to fresh, hot (donuts) drinks.

  2. Troy
    Apr 09, 2008 @ 23:48:49

    1. I’m glad the horses aren’t bald.
    2. You don’t smell the scent of fresh manure. Does this mean you smell stagnant manure? Ew.

    Love ya, and love your writing.
    T

Leave a Reply

