Our Humbling Hour of Fame

I changed my clothes at least 50 times that day. I heard that the camera puts on 10 pounds and already felt as though I was carrying an extra 10 pounds. Oh vanity, I even put on some make-up and worked on poses that would reduce my double chin. I actually have no neck. All my life I was cursed with a profile that has a chin that slides into an area where a neck would normally go. I always dreamed of a  slender and elegant long neck. Oh well, back to my story about myself. So I worked hard to try to appear like I wasn’t trying to look good on television. I also didn’t want to look like I spent all day trying to write words for $ while chasing my 2 year old around the house, and breaking up the arguments of my other two precious kids.

It all started, you see, when my husband and I tried to schedule some movers for our big move to the country. We had a few communication problems. My husband and I having misunderstandings is quite unusual. You see, when your personalities are the opposite you tend to see things the same way, and don’t have to talk through things (right). So, I thought he was checking out the movers, he thought I was checking out the movers, and then next thing we know, we are standing outside arguing with some idiot on the phone about not paying seven times the moving quote we were given to get our stuff into our house.

I can laugh about it now–well, sometimes. However, when you are helpless and all your belongings are locked up in a truck and a man is telling you to pay almost $5,000 to get it out, well, things aren’t so funny then. So, here is the link to our family’s moment on television, where we show the world (okay, mostly Fresno, and really just those few viewers that happened to be watching the show) that we are suckers, idiots, fill in the blank. I can’t link directly to the video, here is the link to the page and you need to click on the video link under “CBS Investigates: Moving Scams” and you will see me and my family. Also, please read this article I wrote on how to prevent this nightmare from happening to you–being scammed is actually easier than you might think!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Novembrance
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 12:10:33

    Wow: huge bummer on the scam! That makes moving even worse than usual.

  2. Novembrance
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 12:16:48

    Oh, and PS? You look fantastic! And the new house looks nice, too.

    (I have that same profile neck thingy.)

  3. Theresa
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 02:56:27

    You look great! The whole moving thing really sucks. We once paid to have our car sent from California to Spain, but the company went bankrupt and abandoned it somewhere in New York. We were lucky enough to finally find it, but we did have to pay again to have it sent over. 😦

  4. tobeme
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 15:30:19

    So sorry to hear that you got scammed! Ugh. Sounds like you made the best of it.

  5. Annette
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 07:28:46

    Yikes and yikes. I hope I never have to move again.

  6. rjlight
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 12:02:18

    Novembrance, Theresa, tobeme & Annette — thanks for your comments! I wasn’t trying to get you all to say I looked good. I just wanted to get this nightmare over with. It helps to laugh about it!

Leave a Reply

