Sometimes You Need Some Inspiration

Sometimes I think writer’s face writer’s block not because of a lack of something to say, but because of having too much to say and not knowing how to put it out there. Sometimes a break from writing is good, and sometimes it’s a change of scenery, or just writing something different from your normal writing. For whatever reason, writer’s get stuck. Here are a few quotes to help inspire you to keep on writing, laughing, and eating (they have nothing to do with eating, but I like to eat.)

“Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.” – Will Rogers

“Write something to suit yourself and many people will like it; write something to suit everybody and scarcely anyone will care for it.”- Jesse Stuart
“I was working on the proof of one of my poems all the morning, and took out a comma. In the afternoon I put it back in again.” – Oscar Wilde

“I write to discover what I think.” – Joan Didion

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Troy
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 02:35:14

    Here’s another one to throw into the mix: “Generality is the enemy of creativity.” Hope this helps and I love your writing, so keep on going, friend!

  2. rjlight
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 14:39:49

    Troy,

    Hmmm, that is one to ponder. Thanks for the encouragement! You know I enjoy reading your writing too!

  3. tobeme
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 11:52:51

    The key is to know that it is okay to get stuck. Relax, enjoy. I sometimes get my best stuff in the shower.

  4. Theresa
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 03:55:18

    Wow, what a change around here. The blog is looking good! Keep writing, I love reading your stuff. I write just because I love it, even when what I write isn’t very good. I was stuck for something for Scrivel the other day, and then this silly idea about feet popped up. Other times I have a really great idea but it just doesn’t come out right. I guess the thing to do is keep on going…and to support each other. 🙂

  5. rjlight
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 07:58:34

    tobeme — my problem is not getting out enough, you need to get out to get some inspiration sometimes, then the shower helps the ideas to flow!

    theresa — thanks! I’m not really a humor blog in the humor blog sense of the word so I thought I would make some changes. I mean there is laugh out loud funny and then there is amusing, which is me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

