Vacation Sans Luggage

I just read an article on the NY Times website about the rise in nude vacations. I thought it must be a joke. I lived in Europe for almost seven years so I am quite used to the topless beaches. Now there are men who are thinking, all right gotta love that. Put this thought into your mind: most of the topless women were 60-year-old German women. The article, anyway, mentions that as people become more close to nature they are wanting to be more natural. Many hotels and even cruise-lines are catering to these nature buffs.

What I found incredibly interesting was the type of activities at some of these open resorts. One optional clothing vacation was a biking trip. Am I the only one who thinks this could be a problem? I remember biking with my friend who was a serious biker. I hadn’t been on a bike since I was in elementary school and decided to go with her (fully clothed) on what she called a little ride. Miles later, I stepped down off the bike and have never walked the same. Don’t biking shorts have padding for a reason?

One of the quotes in the article was a lady who said she liked the nude vacations because when everyone is naked you don’t know the class of people. In other words, you won’t be able to see how much money someone makes by the clothes they are wearing, and that it makes everyone seem equal. I understand not being able to see the rich man’s $1000 italian shoes; however, we still rank people by their looks don’t we? Isn’t an ugly naked guy going to be less popular than the handsome naked guy?

There was also a reference by the writer to the Olympic games. It was indicated that the Greeks were nude for the first games. I have done my research and cannot find proof of this so-called fact. I haven’t found even one photo of nude shot-putters, high-jumpers, javelin-throwers, or figure skaters. There is a story about a nude sprinter; however, the facts aren’t clear if he was intentionally nude or simply lost his shorts or maybe his chlamys (toga). Spartans are believed to have competed in the buff. Leave it to those Spartans to want to throw a discus without cumbersome robes.

Thankfully, these vacations haven’t become family vacations. Well, they tend to be couple vacations; however, they don’t bring the kids along.  Even older parents can’t seem to get their 40+ children to go with them on these trips. Imagine that?

This does, however, remind me of Spain. Our neighbors behind us were interesting people. The man loved to blare his Jesus Christ Superstar CD out into the back yard. It was quite entertaining listening to him try to sing it in English. His wife was even more intriguing. She was a topless sun bather. Well, that isn’t quite doing it justice. She was a topless summer person. Toplessness does not have to be secluded to sunbathing. She felt a certain freedom, I guess, when she swept her back porch in her bikini bottoms. It was a sight I to this day try to block out of my memory. My favorite memory had to be when their son invited his girlfriend over for the afternoon and they decided to pose for pictures. I could just imagine the girl being an American and showing the picture to her parents back home!  

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tara R.
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 08:27:32

    I live near the beach on the Gulf Coast of Florida. It’s bad enough seeing some of the people there with clothes, sans clothes… EEWWWW!

  2. rjlight
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 08:34:30

    Thanks, Tara for visiting! Totally understand…

  3. Trackback: life as we know it
  4. Jenna
    May 01, 2008 @ 11:00:50

    Your writing is so great. Haven’t told you so, but I love the new look over here too. Thank you for including me in your blogroll. I am honored, to say the least.

    Nude vacations? Weird. I like to be naked. But I only like to be standing naked, or laying JUST RIGHT naked. Not sitting naked, for sure. Not after 4 kids. Not walking naked, not doing anything ‘bad’ naked, like Jerry Seinfeld talked about, like brushing your teeth naked. Not good. Not vacuuming naked, and certainly not mopping naked. BIKING naked? How much more unflattering could an event be? And painful. Well, this post will have colorful images floating through my head all day long.

  5. tobeme
    May 03, 2008 @ 08:18:46

    It is interesting that people would want to do everything in the nude. Of course the sexuall side of nudity quickly disipates after a short time and everything becomes quiet natural. I have lived in Europe and I have seen people of all shapes, sizes and ages nude or partially nude on the beachs. One quickly begins to see it as no big deal. The funny thing was, you could easily spot the American males, they were the ones sporting binoccolors from their necks.

  6. rjlight
    May 05, 2008 @ 11:52:04

    Jenna, thank you so much! Yes, one shouldn’t move about too much while naked!

    tobeme — Yep, I know what you are saying, but it is quite a shock when you aren’t used to it.

Leave a Reply

