Planes, Trains & Buses

“I knew I was going to take the wrong train, so I left early.” Yogi Bera

In the last two weeks I have spent quite a bit of time traveling, but I haven’t gone very far. Well, I did go from California to Salt Lake City to Phoenix to Kansas City and back. I guess that was very far; however, if you consider my total flying time you would have thought I went to Europe. I did end up with a credit for another airline ticket though — that was good.

I also decided to avoid driving and high gas prices so I took the train to southern California. However, the train doesn’t go all the way to southern California without a bus getting involved in the trip. Here I was thinking I was making a decision that was better for the environment (and my head) and you know how many people were on the bus both ways? Around 7 people were on the bus–so much for helping the environment. And it was so LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG. The train was nice and full, but why didn’t California look to Europe for some public transportation guidance? Does a high speed train from northern California to southern California sound like a good idea–maybe 20 years ago? I made the mistake of living in Europe and then trying public transportation in California. Even the buses in Spain are more efficient.

I discovered on this train/bus trip that if I want to go to northern California then the train is not too bad an idea because I would actually take the train the whole way–no Amtrak buses to pick me up. If I want to go to southern California well, I better get an electric car if I want to help the environment. Or maybe I could ride my son’s plasma car? I’ve actually gotten pretty fast. You should see my u-turns.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 04:48:48

    How about the time Johanna bought a ticket for the train to get to work and then the train was going to be over an hour late?! A commuter train being an hour late. I can’t believe it. But, they also have NO people working at the train station so she couldn’t get her money back. Instead of saving herself the money on gas she ended up wasting it on a ticket and then having to drive to work anyway. Stupid US public transportation.

  2. rjlight
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 16:55:56

    Jenn–you sound like someone who has lived in Europe and experienced REAL public transportation! 😉

Leave a Reply

