Take it with a Grain of Salt

I grew up with Morton Salt in the cupboard. I think that is the only salt my mom ever bought. I remember the commercial “When it rains, it pours” on the tv–is that still a commercial? So when I needed to buy salt at the store yesterday my eyes automatically went to the little blue container with the little girl with the umbrella on it. But I didn’t buy it because I was lured by the generic salt that was quite a bit cheaper. Salt is salt right? No, I couldn’t open the generic container. How hard is it to take the sticker off and pull up the little silver thingy? Afterall, salt containers haven’t changed in 40 years probably (I don’t know I’m not that old). The sticker tore into little pieces and had to be pulled off bit by bit. The little silver thingy ripped my nail! Yes, it can be important to buy the salt your mom had in the cupboard.

That salt mistake reminded me of my other more serious salt mistake. For some reason I managed to buy salt that wasn’t iodized years ago when we were first married. My husband was concerned that we were both going to end up with a bulbous protrusion on the neck. I explained that it was a mistake, and I didn’t think goiter was common in the United States–we should be okay for awhile. I ended up buying Morton salt later that day. Of course now, years later, I hear of a lady with a goiter that lives near my sister.  Yep, she must have been salting with the uniodized salt. My husband will never let me forget it.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dick Hanneman
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 04:34:36

    While you’ve mentioned the unsightly goiter than can characterize iodine deficiency, the true concern is for impaired mental capacity for any children you might conceive while iodine deficient. An iodine-deficient expectant mother can cost her “pride and joy” 10 to 15 IQ points. Mental retardation is the product of severe deficiency. Consuming iodized salt is more important than looking good in that new necklace.

    Dick Hanneman
    President, Salt Institute

  2. Nekikay
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 13:51:07

    Since you did not comment on the importance of looking good versus the serious ramifications of avoiding IODIZED salt, I was quite surprise at Dick Hanneman’s comment. His information regarding the seriousness of what can happen if a pregnant mother is iodine deficient, although very important, I think he missed the ‘point’ of your buying the iodized salt Mom bought vs. generic! So take his comments…with a grain of salt!! Mothers do know best!

  3. Half-Past Kissin' Time
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 20:03:41

    Funny you should mention salt tonight; I put too much in the potato salad today; bummer. No sign of goiters, though…

  4. diesel
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 21:13:32

    Dick Hanneman must surf the web looking for posts about salt. (Wasn’t there something in the Bible about a post of salt?). Lucky you!

  5. Bee
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 13:21:38

    hehehe, nice of your hubby to rub..well, salt in the wound…heh.

    I could see the jest in your post although, Dick would probably agree that pregnant women taking prenatal vitamins and consuming a good diet that included iodine rich foods is more important than downing the iodized salt.

    More people are harmed by over-salting their foods than those women suffering from maternal thyroid complications caused by iodine deficiencies, thus resulting in neuropsychological development in a fetal brain. In other words, it’s best to consult an endocrinologist (that’s a doctor, all) or research yourself to know the best way…the healthiest way, to consume iodine.

    Have it be known, iodine is found the world wide in table salt, although kelp, seafood, asparagus, turkey, chicken, onions, broccoli are excellent sources of iodine. Oh, and so are prenatal vitamins. Who would have thought?

    That said, I have no beef with salt. I prefer it with my margaritas and dashed on my asparagus. Yummmmm.

  6. rjlight
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 15:38:24

    Dick — I think your comment was covered by others — you might want to lighten up a bit.
    Half-past–well, it is the lack of salt that bring on the problems with goiters so you will just have to deal with hypertension
    Diesel–yes I think some chic became a post of salt…The morton girl!
    Bee–thank you for the dietary advice. I’m having asparagus with salt tonight!

  7. Bee
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 17:47:18

    I remember that commercial.

    I bought a generic brand once too and it just didn’t seem the same. My hubs asked me how much I had saved and when I told him it was half the Morton’s price he said we could afford that little luxury. I guess he got tired of me complaining. :o)

  8. Jenna Consolo
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 20:26:28

    Once I inadvertantly bought the uniodized salt too and my grandmother came to visit and had a fit. But then I wonder, isn’t there so much salt in everything else we eat that surely the iodine is taken care of too?

  9. rjlight
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 18:38:56

    Bee — The luxury of Morton’s salt -funny!

    Jenna — You would think we wouldn’t have to worry about iodine but Dick H. at the Salt Institute obviously thinks there is a lack.

  10. Acai Berry
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 14:52:59

    Thanks to the article, well thought out. I searched for a while to find the right answer to my questions!

Leave a Reply

