Off the Fence

I wasn’t going to do it. I was going to express my freedom to not express my opinion. I gave in. I guess I watched a few debates or one too many and decided I needed to vote this year. Or maybe it was when I received the offer from Omaha steaks and thought it said Obama steaks that I new it was time to register. Okay, some of you are so disappointed that it has taken me so long to register. Well, this wasn’t my first time registering, just the first time at my new address. And at my last new address. And… okay it’s been awhile since I voted. Please no lecturers on the privilege of being able to vote — I’ve heard them all. Just remember we also have the freedom in the US to not vote. Yeah, yeah, whatever.

Anyway, I registered okay. I will soon stand in some boring booth trying to understand what anyone stands for and if that even matters anymore. Yes, I’m a bit cynical. This is why I haven’t registered for awhile. And really, can you blame a bit of cynicism when the congressmen who are supposedly working for us haven’t been working for us and just passed a bill trying to clean up their mess? Oops, I let an opinion slip out, sorry. I’ll save the rest for the polls. And don’t even try to guess who I’m voting for. I will tell you this, his last name either rhymes with “too much pain” or “pajama”.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ghazala Khan
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 11:20:04

    Interview Request

    Hello Dear and Respected,
    I hope you are fine and carrying on the great work you have been doing for the Internet surfers. I am Ghazala Khan from The Pakistani Spectator (TPS), We at TPS throw a candid look on everything happening in and for Pakistan in the world. We are trying to contribute our humble share in the webosphere. Our aim is to foster peace, progress and harmony with passion.

    We at TPS are carrying out a new series of interviews with the notable passionate bloggers, writers, and webmasters. In that regard, we would like to interview you, if you don’t mind. Please send us your approval for your interview at my email address “ghazala.khi at gmail.com”, so that I could send you the Interview questions. We would be extremely grateful.

    regards.

    Ghazala Khan
    The Pakistani Spectator
    http://www.pakspectator.com

  2. meleah rebeccah
    Oct 13, 2008 @ 20:19:34

    I am ALSO voting for that PAJAMA person.

  3. tobeme
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 10:38:48

    You made a difficult decision. It is easy to sit on the side lines and be a cynic.

  4. Bill Friday
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 00:20:15

    You know what would go great with those aged Obama steaks is a bottle of 15-year-old McCain Single-Malt Scotch.

    Keep checking your mail. I know I’ll be checking mine.

  5. rjlight
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 13:36:27

    Ghazala Kahn– yes I am notable and passionate thanks for noticing.

    Meleah R. — I didn’t say who I was voting for! 😉

    Bill — my mouth is watering.

  6. meleah rebeccah
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 12:58:09

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

