Noises in the Night

I think I mentioned in another post about our loud fishes. We had them in the hallway outside of our bedroom, but we had to move them because they kept my husband up at night. Yes, two goldfish were too loud for my husband. Well, we got a puppy last month. Charlie is a doxie-min pin mix and he is adorable. He is 8 months old and learning the ropes around here pretty quickly. He sleeps in a crate (I’m sorry I can’t sleep with a dog) in our bedroom and sleeps so quietly. Except for the night that I mentioned to my husband how it was funny that the dog was quieter than 2 goldfish. That night Charlie snored. I don’t know if he had dug one hole too many and had some dirt up in his nasal passage or what but he was snoring. I had to get up and move him like I have to do to my husband to get him to stop snoring. Yes, the person who can’t sleep by the goldfish keeps me awake sometimes with his snoring.

Charlie’s snoring was actually a soothing noise. It wasn’t like a relative of mine. She snores like a freight train. She knows she does and she warns you, but one time I forgot the ear plugs. I’ll never forget that sound. It actually shook the walls. Anyway, Charlie’s snoring wasn’t so loud, but the thing about snoring is that it isn’t consistent. It isn’t like white noise which lulls you to sleep. No, with snoring you stay awake in anticipation of the next wave. And you wonder, will it be louder than the last one? Can I pretend that noise is the ocean? Is there a way to cover him with the pillow without suffocating him? Will it end with another  snort? Will I make it through the night?

The good thing is that I don’t snore or make noises in the night because my husband wouldn’t be able to stand it. I might have talked in my sleep once or twice and grabbed all the covers and hit him in the night, but I don’t snore which is good for our marriage.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nice
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 01:33:28

    asd

  2. Momma Knows
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 06:59:11

    I wasn’t going to comment, but as I see you have spam above me, I think I’ll say SOMETHING. 🙂

    The real question here is, does your husband KNOW he snores and does he ADMIT to snoring? Mine snores sometimes but refuses to believe or admit he does it. Even when he snores himself awake… he will elbow me and say “Hey, you’re snoring!”

  3. Jenn
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 07:22:03

    I used to have two goldfish (Butch and Sundance) who could keep me awake at night. They are quite noisy!

    Right now we have a snoring problem that is causing us to sleep in separate bedrooms. Charles claims that it is me, and I know I have been snoring, but last night I couldn’t sleep because of his snoring and then he woke up and said, “I can’t sleep because you’re snoring so loud!” Well, that’s interesting because I wasn’t asleep but was listening to HIS snoring.

    Finally, I used to make chipmunk noises in my sleep that seriously disturbed Charles. And once or maybe five times I have had frustrating conversations with him in which I have made no sense at all but am sure that he is just trying to be annoying by not understanding me. The next morning I find out that I wasn’t actually awake for any of it.

  4. rjlight
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 07:42:23

    Vennay, Mr. Nobody, and Nice — You all amazingly have the same thoughts! Of course I am still deciphering “asd”. Next time why don’t you actually read the post! (I like talking to spam)

    Momma–my husband does know he snores. He doesn’t snore every night though which is good. Sometimes his snoring wakes him up and I explain to him that he woke himself up.

    Jenna – Earplugs. A couple of relatives of mine both wear earplugs at night because they both snore! I think if your kids really need you they will be loud enough to wake you up anyway.

  5. Novembrance
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 19:26:22

    How I’ve missed you.

  6. Hector
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 14:42:25

    Fish are loud. Especially when they splash.

Leave a Reply

