I’m a chicken

I have a story for 8-10 year old’s next to the computer. My children’s literature teacher has read it and likes it. I have made the changes she recommended and I don’t have the nerve to send it out. I like the story and I think it is one of my best and I don’t want to send it only to get a rejection note — or worse no response! I have researched the market and know where I should send it. And yet it sits next to me. I have proofed it, my kids have both read it and like it and yet it stares at me everyday.

I was getting used to the rejection letters. They got a bit more hopeful and then I started getting no responses again and that is just plain depressing. I have changed the date on my cover letter 4 times now. I keep saying that I am waiting for the right time. The right time for what? I don’t know. There is no right time for another rejection letter.

So I must forget about the other rejections or lack of rejections and act as though this is my first submission. What do I have to lose? Even if it is rejected by one publication it doesn’t mean another children’s magazine won’t like it, right? I am weary today. Somedays I just don’t feel like I have any talent to write and it is discouraging.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 16:18:11

    The rejection letters would be so hard for me. But still, SEND IT IN!

  2. Hector
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 16:28:59

    You could self publish it too. A lot of newer authors are publishing things online as a way to get a following. John Scalzi actually published his first novel online. He also published his second the same way, and ended up selling them anyway. You could find an illustrator for it too.

  3. rjlight
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 13:36:25

    Thank you Loco (I think)

    Jenn– I know, I know!

    Hector–Once I have one children’s mag story published it will be easier. I don’t want to self-publish right now.

  4. Peter Walker
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 21:06:24

    Read your “about” page: “Oh What A Night.” I was just singing that today… my staff thought I was crazy. Enjoying your blog – thanks for visiting mine. Keep up the good work – it’s hard getting started. I’ve been “getting started” for the last five years. And so it goes…

    Blessings,
    Peter

  5. meleah rebeccah
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 06:35:24

    Oh I know how that feels…but all I can say is JUST DO IT. Just Do It. Send it out. You may be very pleasantly surprised!

  6. Janelle
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 06:32:44

    Oh I feel the pain I got a rejection letter this week it started out real positive then went down hill “we were impressed with your resume BUT”
    I will be getting a few more I am sure. As we talked about when you were in the Carolinas we fear the failure too. I have a new out look “When you stumble (fail), make it part of the dance.
    Ha! love that quote
    love you

  7. rjlight
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 19:40:49

    Peter Walker–it’s a great song — keep singing it! Thanks for visiting!

    meleah – yes, do it. Nike and all that.

    Janelle — I’m so sorry! I like that quote! love you back

Leave a Reply

