The Season of Penguins

I am the kind of person that is ready to get that Christmas tree down the day after Christmas. It just seems like so much work. I think we could not have one and I’d be fine. This year I have surprised my husband a bit–I bought lights for the outside of the house. Just some tasteful white ones but a big step for me. We can’t compare to some of the neighbors. Houses have lights with reindeers, santas, snowmen, trains, and presents. My favorite of all though has to be the nativity scene down the street with musical lights. My eyes dance with delight as I hear the music and see the flashing lights around Joseph, Mary, Jesus and the penguins. Now, I get the penguins hanging out at the north pole. I just have a hard time remembering the penguins at Bethlehem. I never pictured them in the stable–is my version of the Bible missing something? They look a bit cuter than the shepherd and cows, but for some reason they seem out of place to me.

The music is also an interesting touch. But it has to be annoying to the people in the house to hear it over and over and over. I get tired of the Christmas songs on the radio this time of year. I mean within one day you will hear everyone from Kid Rock to Anne Murray singing “Winter Wonderland”. You also can’t go a day without “All I Want For Christmas” by Mariah Carey (which I admit I still try to sing). My all time favorite though has to be hearing George Michael  singing “Last Christmas” every year. When is last Christmas just too long ago to mention anymore? Doesn’t that song just bring tears to your eyes (or a gun to your head)? I just read that he is going to release a new Christmas song out this year. I guess he figures that is the only song he has that still gets consistent playing time so why not add another Christmas song.

I’m not a scrooge though. I enjoy buying gifts for people — when I really know them and what they like. I even drink Egg Nog (although I’m drinking Soy Nog which is just called Nog but I think that still counts) in little snowmen mugs. I have also been knitting (those little dickies I mentioned in the last post) my little fingers to the bone. Okay, that’s not true, but I went to a Christmas cookie exchange on Saturday and I’m going to another one tomorrow night! I figure those should hold me for a few years, don’t you think? I’m almost like a little elf, huh? Speaking of elves, I also like watching the movie Elf.  The other day I was at the dentist (I went 3 times last week — long story I am sure I will share after the surgery and I’m off pain-killers) and they had Elf playing in the waiting room.  I can’t watch that movie without laughing out loud. I know everyone in the waiting room thought I was a bit strange but come on, how can you not laugh at Elf?  Plus if you can’t just be yourself in a dentist waiting room preparing for oral surgery then when can you be yourself? Then I got said when I realized that after my surgery, “smiling” won’t be my favorite for quite awhile…

Well, it’s time to get out the snowmen mug and pick a cookie from the cookie exchange, and sit outside to listen and watch the penguins and Jesus. If only you could be here.

UPDATE: The other day I heard Rod Stewart singing “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music. It was scary. There are some songs that Rod Stewart cannot sing and that is one of them. “Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes” from the “If You Think I’m Sexy” man? No way.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenna Consolo
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 15:42:36

    Penguins in Bethlehem! I love it!

    You better put up that tree and love it, young lady! And don’t be in a hurry to take it down, either! Don’t you think the tree makes the house feel so much better?

  2. rjlight
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 09:07:32

    Jenna–The tree is beautiful and I am enjoying it! In January though, I will be itching to get it down…:)

  3. meleah rebeccah
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 13:52:01

    We once had a neighbor with MUSICAL Christmas lights. I cannot even tell you HOW annoying it was to hear The Same Song Every Single Day for WEEKS.

    I only use white tasteful lighting too.

    However, every year my son and I have a tradition. We drive all over the town looking for the most Out Of Control lights on a house, take photos and choose a winner!

    I love having a Christmas tree, but this year we didn’t put one up, and I’m kind of sorry we didn’t.

Leave a Reply

