Head Above Water

I took my son to “swim” lessons today. I put swim in quotes because I love to do air quotes. No, I just think a 3 year old doesn’t learn how to swim as much as they learn to put their head in the water. Well that is all my children seem to learn. My kids didn’t get the dolphin gene. (They didn’t get the dolphin gene because my husband and I didn’t get it either.)

This is my son’s second class of 10 weeks. The first 16 weeks were spent perfecting the back float because that is all he would do. I don’t want to brag but he got that from me–I am the best back floater. I challenge anyone in a back float contest. I will win. My son however, couldn’t master blowing bubbles in the water until the 17th week I think. Every other kid in the class practically jumped in the pool headfirst breathing though their gills but my son didn’t want that face in the water. So 20 weeks and $250 later my son can now blow bubbles in the water and float on his back.

I took swim lessons when I was 7 or 8 I think. I remember being traumatized by the ugly plastic white swimming cap. It wasn’t just any unbelievable tight cap. No this cap was the designer cap– it had these beautiful molded leaves all over it. The  look was quite unappealing which is why my brothers liked to call me egg head when I wore it. When you have a huge pile of long hair and you try to shove it in a stiff little cap your head does tend to change shape. I also remember kicking with the kick board back and forth, back and forth and back and forth. But, like my son, I shined on the back float. Yes, my kids and their parents will never be swimming stars but if we are stranded out in the middle of the ocean, we will be floating on our backs until we die.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashleigh
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 18:57:39

    I also float rather well on my back. It’s a talent!

  2. tobeme
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 12:11:27

    Takes less effort to float, you could last a lot longer lost at sea by floating.

Leave a Reply

