Isn’t oxygen necessary?

Okay, so the black widow is still alive. It is in a sealed jar–there are no air holes. Can someone tell me how it is still alive? It is really creepy. Yesterday I screamed because I saw a black spider. It didn’t have the red pattern on it so it wasn’t a black widow. It scares me a bit to think of  how many of those creatures are around my home. The daddy long legs are everywhere, but they are harmless and I kind of like them. But any creature that is small and can kill you with one deadly bite…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nooter
    May 21, 2009 @ 18:28:19

    spiders live on hopes and dreams, oh and a wee spot ‘o blood here and there

  2. Tara R.
    May 25, 2009 @ 06:58:36

    I absolutely HATE spiders. I smashed one once with my shoe… it was preggers, 100s of little creepies went every where. I still shutter thinking about it.

  3. Jenna Consolo
    May 26, 2009 @ 12:36:25

    Only the female black widows have the red spot. Just so you know. But maybe that doesn’t help you right now.

  4. Momma Knows
    May 29, 2009 @ 08:08:11

    When I lived in Los Osos, CA my dad caught a scorpion (OK he didn’t catch it, it scared the crap out of him when he moved a trash can). We put it into a clear plastic container with a sealed, totally sealed, lid. Every once in a while I would open the top and poke it with a stick, and it would sting the stick. I should mention that it was around 4 inches long and I was 15 at the time. So long story short, the thing lived basically without air or food for over 7 months! I actually FORGOT ABOUT IT for a few months, went back, took off the lid and it was still alive. Dunno about your spider but I think the creepy things can just DO that. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

