Homemade Ice Cream

I have been wanting to get an ice cream maker for years now. I don’t know why it has taken me so long. I guess I thought I would eat more ice cream if I had one. Who was I kidding? I still eat ice cream without one. At least if I had one I could control what ingredients I would put in the ice cream — could even make it healthier? What a concept.

So I was walking around a large store looking for some more items for my daughter’s birthday party when my eye caught sight of an ice cream maker. It was a “gel” ice cream maker and looked quite efficient. I figured since the only ice cream maker I was familiar with was my dad’s old noisy one that this one would be much quieter and faster. I read over the box and noticed that this ice maker didn’t need rock salt–a nice perk. I mean, who wants to keep a supply of rock salt on hand? I looked over it and put it in my cart and started rolling down the aisle.

ice cream

As I turned around the corner I noticed a whole stand of ice cream makers. These were the old-fashioned ones that used rock salt and made that churning sound. My mind immediately went back to when I was a little girl waiting for my dad’s ice cream to be ready. I can still hear the sound of the rock salt being poured into the machine, and taste that incredible smooth, cold ice cream going down my throat. I looked at the price and read the box. Then I put the gel one back on the shelf and put the old-fashioned ice cream maker in my cart and grabbed some bags of rock salt. How could I make “real” homemade ice cream without those familiar noises? I realized I needed an ice cream maker more like my dad’s. I couldn’t watch my dad make his ice cream anymore, but at least with this one I could remember those times I did have with him.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tobeme
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 10:50:58

    Sometimes the old ways are the most fun. I can recall hand cranking ice cream and the joy of tasting it when it was done.

  2. Jenna Consolo
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 19:15:23

    I so agree with you. I have both kinds too, and the rock salt noisy one wins out every time because it’s the way Dad did it. Well, his was hand crank, but we must make SOME adjustments for technology!

    Now, do you have the Ben and Jerry’s recipe book? You MUST get it!

  3. rjlight
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 19:21:01

    tobeme– I don’t crank but it sounds like the old kind!

    Jenna — what? Ben & jerry’s has a recipe book? I should know this! thanks!

  4. Jenna Consolo
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 19:26:51

    Oh yes! I got it as a wedding shower gift (from my mother! She knows me best!) for my first wedding years ago–you must look for it! It is incredible! All the secrets revealed!

Leave a Reply

