An Attempt At Writing Consistently

I was the typical American child with the peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Well, actually, it was peanut butter and jam and yes that matters. Jelly is a sugary substance that is a 3rd cousin to fruit. Jam actually looks like fruit was part of the recipe. Anyway, I had the pb&j sandwich, chips, banana, and Holly Hobby thermos for the beginning of my school days.

Around third grade I advanced to the cool lunchbag. I no longer had an aluminum box or zip up bag. I had the first eco-friendly brown bag. It was a tote type bag with the words “brown bag” on them. Crazy, huh? In that bag I had, however, the same pb&j (usually strawberry jam), chips and a banana. I might have purchased milk to drink. I don’t remember a thermos being involved. During this time I also had my banana sticker collection stuck on the inside of my “brown bag.”

When I got to the middle school years my lunch started becoming a yogurt and crackers with cream cheese. After living in Europe, I now know that dairy contraption I was eating wasn’t very close to yogurt. Why I decided that yogurt and cream cheese smothered crackers was the new lunch I don’t know. This lunch, however, explains my lactose sensitivity.

I also bought lunch at various times during my school years. I can’t seem to remember any of them. I remember the little milks, and carrying a tray. I know the lunches were in aluminum little containers not like those horrible foam things they give nowadays. It seems salisbury steak and spaghetti might have been on the menu. Was there a cheeseburger too? Something green and mushy might have been there too–green beans? And now I see it — the fruit cocktail in the little corner. Awww, lunch memories.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 18:35:35

    Ok, how weird is it that I just ate a pb&j for dinner? Well, I actually made it for my 7 year old and he didn’t want it.

  2. rjlight
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 18:47:37

    I had one the other day for lunch with lay’s salt & vinegar chips in the middle. yum!

  3. Dawn (aka MommaKnows)
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 13:25:36

    My son eats peanut butter & chips…. Doritos, usually. I have another who eats PB & C, “C” being cheddar cheese…. or he’ll forego the cheese for sliced pickles. Yes I have weird kids!

    I had the Holly Hobby lunch box too! Then I ate hot lunch at school for… eons. The only meal I remember besides super greasy pizza were these things called Cheese Zombies. It was this HUGE french bread type roll with cheese in the middle of it. They were bigger than hamburgers and tasted nasty.

Leave a Reply

