The Gift in Color

When I was about 9-years-old my oldest brother gave me a Ben Nye make-up kit. My brother was an actor and thought I would enjoy disguising myself once in awhile. I dreamed of being an actress and used that make-up whenever I wanted to escape reality.

I remember when he first gave it to me he made my nephew (who was only 4 years younger than me) look like an old man. I think he made me into an adult lady.

Throughout the years that make-up kit was ticket to stardom, so I thought. I would shmear it on my face and pretend I was all sorts of things. I really didn’t know how to use the make-up but it didn’t stop me from pretending. I loved practicing an emotional scene that required me to cry in front of the camera. I would focus on something sad and try to cry until my make-up bled. Then I would clean up and give my acceptance speech at the Oscars.

I don’t know what happened to the make-up kit. I guess I used most of it up. I do, however, still practice my Oscar acceptance speech because no one can cry on camera like I can.

This is second in a series of posts I am doing for a writing challenge.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 18:03:16

    Oh how fun! I loved to experiment with makeup as a kid. Of course now that I am approaching 40 (hiss…boo…) I wear less and less.

    You should do a video post of the Oscar speech! 🙂

Leave a Reply

